ages 11-18

Fabulous Fiction Firsts #80

Well, I wasn’t going to read it. Another Chicklit. I thought, and a bit too cute, judging from the cover. But I was stuck in an airport and it was there. Soon I was turning pages, surprised to be hooked by this engaging debut about a wounded healer and her African elephants.

In Still Life with Elephant by Judy Reene Singer, horse-trainer Neelie Sterling is not a good listener. She knows that and she tries hard. But when her cheating husband, veterinarian Matt tells her his partner is having his baby, Neelie can’t deny that she is dense and blind as well.

As a last-ditch effort to save her marriage, she volunteers to join Matt's rescue mission to save injured elephants in Zimbabwe. The trip is dangerous, exhilarating and the nursing of the elephants back home is grueling and frustrating. However, Neelie soon learns that healing could be mutual and there is “still” life (pretty marvelous at that) worth living, especially when the charming millionaire who sponsored the rescue comes knocking.

Nicely paced and sparkled with humor, a debut novel to wrap up the summer. The elephants will steal your heart and the romantic in you will cheer. For fans of Jennifer Weiner and Jenny Colgan.

Two Watase

Ahh, Joy beat me to posting about Yu Watase! She's quick! Still, I can not resist chiming in to talk about Fushigi yûgi: The Mysterious Play anyway. This is one of my favorite fantasy anime/manga series. The reason I think I like it so much is because of how well rounded it feels to me. It has a little bit of everything all balanced to happen at just the right moments: Heart wrenching romantic plots, seriously cool fighting scenes, plenty of interspersed humor, and, well, intense drama. Yu Watase is one of those authors who is not afraid to kill off a character or two you really end up caring about if the storyline calls for it, which, as horrible as that might sound, really ends up making this series very intense. Throw in the fact that the artwork is beautiful and you have what makes a very good series in my opinion. Check out the manga or the anime...Or, check out the 2nd Fushigi Yugi series set in the same universe for those craving more: Fushigi yûgi: Genbu Kaiden.

Ceres Celestial Legend

On their sixteenth birthday, twins Aki and Aya receive a most unusual gift from their grandfather: a mummified hand! The hand causes painful wounds to appear on Aki’s body—and awakens a mysterious power that’s been sleeping in Aya. Can Aya control her new power, even while her grandfather is plotting to eliminate her? Read the original manga or watch the anime tv adaptation to get the answer.

Naruto @ Animanga Club, Monday, August 13

Join us this Monday @ the Downtown Library’s Multi-Purpose Room from 2:00 to 4:00 for the last meeting of the Animanga Club. Gear up for this fall’s Naruto Nation by watching episodes of the anime and making your own ninja headband. Can you name all the members of Team 8, or match the signature move to the character? You won’t want to miss our trivia quiz—there are cool prizes from Wizzywig for those with high scores. We’ll also have updates on our fall anime/manga events. Snacks and drinks will be provided. See you there!

2nd Annual LEGO Contest Winners!

LegoLego

The 2nd Annual LEGO contest was yet again a blast! We had 110 entries in five categories: Preschool, Grades K-2, Grades 3-5, Grades 6-8 and Grades 9-12. Entries ranged from a "Lego Cafe" where you can get ice cream sandwiches, to two fire breathing dragons, to sunken treasure ships and Star Wars episodes with a fan-fiction story to go along... Families and friends packed the room and waited with baited breath for the winners to be announced! And the winners are:

Duct Tape Re-Mix on Tuesday, August 7

We'll provide the tape-in a bunch of colors from camouflage to pink-and you do the rest. Make what you want and meet other tapeheads. There will be duct tape books like Got Tape?: Roll out the fun with duct tape on hand for inspiration. You'll also view some great duct tape websites.

Drop in 1:00-3:00 p.m. at Pittsfield.

Teen Yellow Pages

phonephone

Calling all teens! For a list of resources just for teens in the local area, check out the Teen Yellow Pages online.

The Youth Empowerment Project just released the 2007-08 edition. This year for the first time it lists resources for the Lincoln, Saline, Willow Run and Ypsilanti School Districts, as well as those for the Ann Arbor.

Pinhole Photography, Saturday, August 4, 12:00-3:00 p.m.

pihhole aadl wkshppihhole aadl wkshp

Imagine taking a picture using an oatmeal box, a pop can, or even a room! That's what pinhole photography is all about. Photographer Matt Callow will explain how it works and guide you through building your own camera. Then comes the fun when you use your new camera to take photographs.

More new Spanish children's books at the library!

There are new children's books in Spanish in the foreign language collection at the library. There are new books at every branch and the selection varies. Take the time to browse the shelves at each branch and look for the new stickers on books. Any questions, comments or suggestions, please e-mail stantont@aadl.org

Apártate de Mississipi! por Cornelia Funke
By the popular German author of Inkheart and Dragon Rider
Matias y los imposibles
A children's book by Peruvian author and winner of the 2006 Alfaguara Prize, Santiago Roncagliolo.
El cartero que se convirtió en carta
See the results as the village postman tells a friendly witch how envious he is of the letters he carries as they can travel and he cannot.
Clifford: Huevos de pascua
A Spanish translation of Clifford and the Big Egg Hunt. More Clifford books in Spanish coming soon.

Designer T-Shirts

Turn an ordinary T-Shirt into a masterpiece, with fabric paint, stencils, and scissors. Teen program at Northeast, Thursday, August 2, from 2:00-4:00pm.

Syndicate content