What you have told us

Here you can search through numerous patron comments and the corresponding AADL replies. Search by the type of comment, in general by what the comment is regarding, or by a particular issue.

We care about what you have to say, and do our best to address each and every concern.

Please let us know how we're doing by submitting a comment or suggestion

Search Patron Comments

Date Received: 2013-12-03
Type: complaint
Regarding: customer service

Patron Comment: I was at one of the branch libraries today trying to get information on how get a app so that I could borrow books on my Nook. I was told that personnel were not trained in that area. I would think that a library filled with technology (so full in fact that one has to search for the 4 - 6 rows allocated to books) would train their employees how to answer a question about getting books on a electronic reader. She suggested that I might want to take a class in this. By suggestion would be to train your workers who sit at the information desks conversing with each other. You are there to provide a service to the public which in this case,you are certainly not doing.

AADL Reply: I am sorry that you had a bad customer service experience last night. Would you mind letting me know what branch you visited, and approximately what time you were there? This would help me to address the customer service issue that you experienced. It is not our expectation that patrons visit the library and leave feeling poorly served. I would also like to help with the question you asked last night. If you go to this web address, http://omc.overdrive.com/v3-available-now/nook.php, it will put you on the road to downloading the Overdrive app, which will allow you to borrow books on your device. If this doesn't get you what you need, please let me know so that we can help you further. Thank you for taking the time to contact us about your experience at the AADL. Best, Sherlonya Turner Youth & Adult : Services & Collections Manager


Date Received: 2013-12-02
Type: other
Regarding: other

Patron Comment: Hi, I'd like to offer feedback about the recently installed check-out system in the Traverwood branch, in terms of the computer interface. I last visited the library a couple weeks ago. Overall I think the new system is a great idea however it has a few kinks. I have a visual impairment and due to the color and size of the font, the system is extremely difficult for me to use independently. Ideal color choices would be those with a high contrast, such as black type on a light background or vice versa. In theory, font color and size should be relatively easy changes. The old system wasn't better. Thanks for your time.

AADL Reply: Hello, thanks for contacting us. We agree that the contrast is low and the text is too small on the new selfcheck software! However, these are unfortunately not configurable settings with the vendor's current software. In fact, this upgrade was the vendor's 2011 release, which we've held off updating as long as we could because of this exact issue. But now the vendor will no longer support the old version, so we had to upgrade before the end of 2013. We are still looking at some ways we might adjust the monitors to make the contrast better, and we are looking at a new library system down the road that wouldn't have these limitations, but we don't have easy solutions to this problem. Thanks for your patience, and thanks for using your library! -eli Eli Neiburger Associate Director for IT and Production Ann Arbor District Library


Date Received: 2013-12-02
Type: other
Regarding: parking

Patron Comment: At Traverwood this morning almost an hour before the library was open, both handicapped spots were occupied by cars with handicapped cards on the mirrors. I hope someone will monitor to make sure this is not a further incursion on what should be library patron parking from the company across the street. Thank you.

AADL Reply: Thank you for contacting the Ann Arbor District Library! The street parking on Traverwood Drive and on Huron Parkway is owned by the City of Ann Arbor so AADL cannot prohibit people from using the handicapped spaces on the street even if they do not use the Library. There are two additional handicapped spots in the AADL lot located underneath the Traverwood Branch. The two Library lots are signed that they are for Library use only, and people who are not using the Library and parking in them have been towed. I hope you find this information helpful and I appreciate you using your Library. Best, Celeste Choate, Associate Director of Services, Collections & Access


Date Received: 2013-11-29
Type: web site feedback
Regarding: - NONE SELECTED -

Patron Comment: Just a reminder about the language used near the bottom of the "my account" page. I guess it could be intentional, but it may also be an oversight. ("new" service) *We're testing out a new service. You can request a locker for outdoor or after hours pickup of this item.

AADL Reply: Hello there, thanks for the note! We will adjust that text in an upcoming enhancement to the locker system. The pittsfield lockers are being rebuilt and we'll be revising the software to work with them then! Thanks again for taking the time to send in this feedback, and thanks for using your library! -eli Eli Neiburger Associate Director for IT and Production Ann Arbor District Library


Date Received: 2013-11-29
Type: complaint
Regarding: other

Patron Comment: On more than one occasion I have noticed a patron watching pornography on the library public computers, in plain sight of other patrons and their children. I understand the library is a public-funded entity and therefore patrons have some liberties as to their activities in the library, but I think that permitting something like that is extremely inappropriate and makes myself and other patrons uncomfortable. If my child were to see what that man was doing on the public computer, I would be extremely upset. I don't believe that anyone has the right to expose others and their children to explicit material at their leisure. Just because it isn't illegal to view pornography does not mean it should be allowed in the library. Very disappointing and disconcerting.

AADL Reply: Mr. Burns, I agree, it is disconcerting and disappointing when any adult behaves inappropriately at the public library. That this does occur is not an indication that the AADL is permitting or encouraging bad judgement. I am relieved that you understand that there are legal boundaries for policies regarding access to public computing. AADL has required photo ID for log in permission to Internet stations for well over a decade. In addition, there are no Internet stations in children's areas at the branches, and Internet computers are located adjacent to the staff desk in the Youth area Downtown. In addition, no one over 14 years of age is allowed to use the Internet in the Youth area Downtown unless they are accompanied by a child 14 or younger. All of the AADL Internet screens are internal privacy screens. They are dark unless a person is standing directly behind a seated user. When you do see something that you find disturbing or offensive, please let someone on staff know immediately. We will approach that person and remind them that they are in the library and ask them to refrain from viewing those images/site. When approached by AADL staff, most people change what they are viewing without complaint, or choose to leave the area. I am more than willing to talk with you further about this matter. I understand a parent's need to protect a child, and will gladly listen to any suggestions that you can make to help AADL make a visit to the library for you and your children more comfortable and enjoyable. My number is 734.327.4263. Thank you very much for taking the time to send me your concern, and I am very glad that you and your family use the public library. Regards, Josie Parker Director


Date Received: 2013-11-25
Type: other
Regarding: other

Patron Comment: I have about 20 years worth of The New Yorker beginning in the 1980s. Is this something the library could use?

AADL Reply: Thank you of thinking of your public library. Unfortunately we generally do not accept donations of magazines unless they are prior to 1950. For the listing of materials accepted please visit: http://faadl.org/how_to_donate_books.html Sincerely, Karen Wilson, Administrative Assistant


Date Received: 2013-11-22
Type: other
Regarding: maintenance

Patron Comment: Soap dispenser is broken in men's bathroom. Need more parking places at Travse.

AADL Reply: This comment was submitted anonymously.


Date Received: 2013-11-22
Type: general suggestion
Regarding: parking

Patron Comment: Please please please offer more parking at Traverwood! Many times I arrive and every single space, except for handicap spaces, are filled! Need more parking at Traverwood. Also please make more of the Huron Parkway space for 15 min. parking.

AADL Reply: This comment was submitted anonymously.


Date Received: 2013-11-22
Type: general suggestion
Regarding: maintenance

Patron Comment: Please add paper towel dispenser to family restroom. Blower is too loud for infants/small children. Thanks.

AADL Reply: This comment was submitted anonymously.


Date Received: 2013-11-22
Type: compliment
Regarding: other

Patron Comment: Thanks you do a great job! I would love to have the ability to check out Kindle books through the library like I could in my last city. Thanks!

AADL Reply: This comment was submitted anonymously.