Download of the Day: February 14

Kids Read Comics 2015: Iron Cartoonist

Cartoonist Zack Giallongo emcees a drawing competition in which comics artists face off in a series of quick draw challenges.

Looking for more great things to download? Try going to our Downloads page for music, books, videos, podcasts, even patterns! And check out the Download of the Day every day for more great recommendations from AADL!

Want to find out about next week's Download of the Day TODAY? And get a whole heap of bonus DotD points in the process? Start playing the Lowdown of the Day! Follow the clues to figure out the item ahead of time. And the first find gets the most points, so move fast!

Fabulous Fiction Firsts #581 “Your task is not to seek for love, but merely to seek and find all the barriers within yourself that you have built against it.” ~ Rumi

A bestseller in its native Spain, love in lowercase by Francesc Miralles (translated by Julie Wark) is a delightful romantic comedy in the tradition of The Rosie Project and The Solitude of Prime Numbers, where a series of surprising events lends a solitary bachelor a second chance at love.

New Year Eve. 37 year-old Samuel, a linguistics lecturer could hardly wait to turn in after observing the Twelve Grapes ritual alone in his Barcelona apartment. Accustomed to a routine of lesson-planning, housework, books, foreign films, classical jazz, and the thrill of an occasional trip to the supermarket, he would hardly believe that all that will change on New Year’s Day when a cat decides to take up residence in his home, and forces him to interact with the messy outside world.

The cat, which he named Mishima first sends him upstairs to meet Titus, a frail book editor who, in turn sends him on an errand where he crosses paths with Gabriela, his lost childhood love. Along the way Samuel learns the importance of what he terms "love in lowercase", a phenomenon in which “some small act of kindness sets off a chain of events that comes around again in the form of multiplied love” and inspires him to seek out Gabriela.

Listen to the Publishers Weekly's radio podcast as Francesc Miralles discusses his novel, also available in Spanish in our World Language Collection.

Download of the Day: February 13

JS Bach French Suites - Katherine Roberts Perl

This harpsichordist's rendition of Bach compositions emphasizes the expressive aspects of the instrument over the formal ones.

Looking for more great things to download? Try going to our Downloads page for music, books, videos, podcasts, even patterns! And check out the Download of the Day every day for more great recommendations from AADL!

Want to find out about next week's Download of the Day TODAY? And get a whole heap of bonus DotD points in the process? Start playing the Lowdown of the Day! Follow the clues to figure out the item ahead of time. And the first find gets the most points, so move fast!

New TV Shows @ AADL

The library is always acquiring additional TV shows and new seasons of them, be they hot and new, or oldies but goodies. Here are some new-to-AADL series:

Casual, Season 1
A bachelor brother and his newly divorced sister living are under one roof again. Together, they coach each other through the crazy world of dating while raising her teenage daughter.

Z Nation, Seasons 1 & 2
Three years after the devastating ZN1 virus gutted the country, a team of everyday heroes must transport the only known survivor of a zombie attack, and humanity's last hope to develop a vaccine, from New York to California. However, he's hiding a secret that could endanger the mission.

The Last Kingdom
The re-telling of the valiant story of King Alfred the Great and his desire to unite many separate kingdoms into what would become England. Combining real historical figures and events with fictional characters, it is the story of how a people reclaimed their land from the invading Vikings and built a place they call home.

Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt, Season 1
Rescued after fifteen years in an underground doomsday cult, Kimmy decides to rebuild her life in New York City armed with only a fifth-grade education and a firm belief that truly anything is possible. She quickly finds a roommate, a job working for a spoiled Manhattan mom, and a new beginning.

19-2, Season 1
Revolves around the day-to-day life of two unwilling partners of the Montreal Police Department, Officers Nick Barron and Ben Chartier. These two beat cops patrol the urban sprawl of downtown's 19th district, in cruiser No. 2. The show is about the tensions and bonds that develop between two incompatible men of very different temperaments and life experiences.

Humans
In a parallel present where the latest must-have gadget for any busy family is a 'Synth' - a highly-developed robotic servant that's so similar to a real human it's transforming the way we live.

Lost Girl, Seasons 1-5
For years Bo had no idea what she was or why every new lover died in the throes of passion. She fled one corpse after another until a chance encounter with the puckish thief Kenzi exposed Bo's existence to the Fae. This ancient society of supernatural beings exists outside the realm of mere mortals. Within their world, there are only two sides: Light and Dark. Each member of the Fae must choose who they will serve. But not Bo. Driven to discover who she really is, Bo vows to live on her own terms even if it means existing in the abyss between darkness and light.

Midwinter of the Spirit
Follows country vicar Merrily Watkins, who is one of the few women priests working as an exorcist in the UK. When a grisly murder takes place in her local area, the police come calling for her assistance.

The Expanse, Season 1
A police detective in the asteroid belt, the first officer of an interplanetary ice freighter and an earth-bound United Nations executive slowly discover a vast conspiracy that threatens all humanity.

Prisoner’s Wives, The Complete Series
Gemma's perfect life comes crashing down when her husband is arrested for murder. As Gemma learns to navigate the prison system, she starts to think the unthinkable.

Forever, the Complete Series
Henry has a vested interest in studying the dead: He is immortal, and only his best friend and confidant, Abe, full of life at age 75, knows Henry's secret. Henry hasn't aged at all since the clock stopped 200 years ago, but he's managed to be discreet without anyone finding out his affliction. That task becomes increasingly difficult when he meets NYPD detective Jo Martinez, who is fascinated by Henry after learning he was the sole survivor of a horrific train crash.

The Doctor Blake Mysteries, Season 1
In 1959, Dr. Lucian Blake returns to his Australian hometown to continue his late father's medical practice, but it is his additional responsibility as the town's chief medical officer that leads him to investigating cases of suspicious death.

Fore more TV shows, be sure to check out AADL’s lists for HOT TV shows, as well as NEW TV shows.

The Ann Arbor Film Festival on DVD

We are nearing that special time of year… it’s nearly time for the ANN ARBOR FILM FESTIVAL! Beloved by locals, the AAFF is also internationally recognized as the “longest-running independent and experimental film festival in North America.”

If you are curious about the festival, or perhaps looking to reminisce over previous editions, AADL can help! You can check out the festival’s DVD collection, which showcases award-winning and popular films from previous festivals. Cool, right?

Ann Arbor Film Festival 53 : Volume 8 (newly added!)

Ann Arbor Film Festival 52 : Volume 7

Ann Arbor Film Festival 51 : Volume 6

See the full list of DVD’s here.

And of course, you can visit the AAFF website for more information regarding the festival, which runs March 15-20th, 2016.

Download of the Day: February 12

Lethal Lineage - Charlotte Hinger

Suspicious of the cold clergy presiding over a church ceremony, the Albright sisters begin to dig into old documents only to discover dangerous secrets in the century-old pages.

Looking for more great things to download? Try going to our Downloads page for music, books, videos, podcasts, even patterns! And check out the Download of the Day every day for more great recommendations from AADL!

Want to find out about next week's Download of the Day TODAY? And get a whole heap of bonus DotD points in the process? Start playing the Lowdown of the Day! Follow the clues to figure out the item ahead of time. And the first find gets the most points, so move fast!

LAST DAY to enter the "Write On!" Short Story Contest!


Today is the last day for writers in 3rd-5th grade to enter a story in the "Write On!" Short Story Contest! Please make sure you have checked the guidelines, then send it by email to youngwrite@aadl.org or drop off a paper copy at the Youth desk Downtown. The story submission mailbox will close at midnight tonight. Happy writing!

Giant Days brings Giant Entertainment

I'm a big fan of Boom! comics and their various imprints. They are the company who brought us Lumberjanes, and Mr. Stuffins (the best comic you'll ever read about a James Bond-like teddy bear). Now with Giant Days by John Allison, they have made a wonderful slice-of-life comic for the teen reader.

The comic follows three freshers (this is the British term for new university students) as they go about their lives during the first year of university. The stories are not grand and epic like Lumberjanes but rather they are small and meaningful. You really get to know the characters and there are opportunities throughout the comic to connect with what's going on with them, whether that's boyfriends, toxic friendships, or rescuing a friend from a trashy nightclub (and many many other such real life adventures).

The artwork is superb, with each of the characters and the locations really having a strong sense of individuality. So if you're looking for a comic that really connects you with wonderful characters, then Giant Days is a must read!

Download of the Day: February 11

Labyrinth - Kerry Politzer

Driven by an edgy sax and a lyrical piano, this album takes harmonic twists and turns you won't want to miss.

Looking for more great things to download? Try going to our Downloads page for music, books, videos, podcasts, even patterns! And check out the Download of the Day every day for more great recommendations from AADL!

Want to find out about next week's Download of the Day TODAY? And get a whole heap of bonus DotD points in the process? Start playing the Lowdown of the Day! Follow the clues to figure out the item ahead of time. And the first find gets the most points, so move fast!

Fabulous Fiction Firsts #580

"Absorbing, intriguing, insightful" raved a reviewer of The 6:41 to Paris * by Jean-Philippe Blondel; a brilliant psychological thriller though there's nary a crime in sight.

This European bestseller is narrated by Cecile Duffaut and Philippe Leduc, lovers who parted 27 years ago as they meet by chance on the 6:41 morning train bound for Paris. Cecile has just spent a dreary weekend dutifully visiting her parents. The only empty seat in the train compartment is claimed by none other than Philippe. Though they each recognize the other at once, neither acknowledges it.

The once plain and socially-awkward Cecile is now a successful business owner, married with grown children, confident and stylishly dressed while the once handsome, charming and care-free Philippe is unrecognizable - "old, wrinkled, flabby, the kind of man that inspires pity." This gives Cecile no small satisfaction as she remembers Philippe's betrayal and her humiliation on a trip to London so painful that she cannot bear to return to the city. In the time it takes the 6:41 train to reach Paris, their thoughts compellingly trace the meandering paths between who they once were and who they are now.

"A fast, yet deep journey through the characters' experiences of anger, triumph, remorse, and forgiveness, Blondel's novel ... reminds us that even long-ago heartbreaks have the power to ignite our most powerful emotions."

"Funny, wise and conciliatory."

Read-alikes: The Forgiven by Lawrence Osborne; Trains and Lovers by Alexander McCall Smith; and The London Train by Tessa Hadley

* = starred review

Syndicate content