(12 ratings - Login to add yours)
  • Published: New York : G. P. Putnam's Sons, 2011.
  • Year Published: 2011
  • Description: 305 p.
  • Language: English
  • Format: Book

Reading Level

  • Lexile: 710

ISBN/Standard Number

  • 9780399256752
  • 039925675X
  • 014242207X

Series

Subjects

Recently Listed On

Tags



Login to add tags

Share This

  • Book

Legend : a Legend novel

by Lu, Marie, 1984-

There are currently 2 available

Where To Find It

Call number: Teen Fiction

Available Copies: Traverwood Teen

Additional Details

In a dark future, when North America has split into two warring nations, fifteen-year-olds Day, a famous criminal, and prodigy June, the brilliant soldier hired to capture him, discover that they have a common enemy.

Community Reviews

It seems that ever since The Hunger Games became popular...

It seems that ever since The Hunger Games became popular there has been a flood of dystopian young adult lit that has surfaced. It (sadly) reminds me of the not so distant Twilight debacle where everyone and their uncle decided to write vampire and werewolf novels... most of which were subpar at best. That being said, I really enjoyed Legend, but in the sea of recent dystopian fiction it doesn't really stand out. It is very well written, and I like the author's voice and the characters a lot; however, struggling against an oppressive government and trying to keep your family alive in a plague-ridden and poor post-American society has kind of been done. A lot. Now, this is one of the better YA dystopian novels I have read recently. It definitely ranks high above the Matched series by Ally Condie and even Delirium by Lauren Oliver, but it's got nothing on The Hunger Games.

June and Day are compelling characters. They are likable, even when they don't always do what you want them to. And I think their physical descriptions are interesting. It's refreshing to have two main characters that are not just white Americans. Both June and Day have Asian/Mongolian features, but Day has long, white-blonde hair and startling blue eyes. These physical features do make them stand out and (in my head at least) make them quite an interesting pair. They also come from very different economic sectors in their society, June being prominent and rich and Day being homeless and poor. Because the book is written from alternating points of view (between June and Day), we get to see all sides of the society in which they live and both sides of the conflict they have with each other. It allows us to see the characters' motivations for their actions and understand both sides of the problem... thus making it a little difficult to choose who to side with! I do appreciate that dynamic and think that Marie Lu is a very good writer. I like the sense of visual awareness in her book. I myself am a visual learner and can't help but picture what goes on in books. I like details. Having an author who thinks similarly and writes to that type of reader is refreshing.

There is also a motif of betrayal throughout the entire book. Betrayal of friends, family, country, commanding officers, strongly held beliefs, justice, and humanity. It is a concept that returns again and again, folding and changing and expanding on the previous betrayals. It creates a very strange perception of what is true and what is not. And begs us to ask the questions: How do we know what is true? And how do we know the powers that be are telling us the truth or have the correct intentions? Did they ever?

One last thing I found to be notable about this book is the author's comment that she thought up the idea while watching Les Miserables. Now, those of you that know me are aware that this is my favorite play/musical of all time. I absolutely love it. And I could probably go on all day about the similarities and connections between these two works that I've drawn since gaining this knowledge (this was an author's comment in the back of the book that I didn't notice until I'd already finished reading!). But looking at this book through the lens of a Les Miserables fan makes me like it all the more. And I feel the strange urge to write an academic paper comparing the two... Scholars, feel free to steal that idea. But I'd love to read your findings once you do!

My Rating
Overall, I give it 4 out of 5 hearts.

Great Book

A very good book for fans of The Hunger Games and Divergent.

Refreshing

This book was refreshing and the story seemed more original than most YA books out there.

Amazing

This was a great book. I didn't want to stop reading it until I got to the last page. The ending is unpredictable.

It was fairly good...

It reminded me a little bit of 1984, in that there is an enemy that is constantly being "defeated", but there is never an end to the conflict. This book, however, was much more predictable than 1984, and its predictability made it boring at times.

amazing

if you like the hunger games get this book i was reading it till 12:00 pm

Very good

I highly recommend this book. If you liked the Hunger Games then you should read this book!!!!!

An okay cliche

While I did enjoy this book, it was really just a fun dumb read. It's pretty similar to any young adult book you can find these days: futuristic society, predictable romance, and equally predictable rebellion. It's worth the time, but don't expect to be floored by the read.

Loved it

This was an amazing book. Great new take on les miserables.

wow

great book could not put it down

Login to write a review of your own.