(2 ratings - Login to add yours)
  • Published: New York : Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 2007.
  • Year Published: 2007
  • Edition: 1st ed.
  • Description: 624 p.
  • Language: English
  • Format: Book

ISBN/Standard Number

  • 9780374249397 (hardcover : alk. paper)
  • 0374249393 (hardcover : alk. paper)


Recently Listed On


Login to add tags

Share This

  • Book

The rest is noise : listening to the twentieth century

by Ross, Alex, 1968-

There are currently 2 available

Where To Find It

Call number: 780.904 Ro

Available Copies: Malletts Adult, West Adult

Additional Details

Includes index.

1900-1933. The golden age : Mahler, Strauss, and the fin-de-siècle ; Doctor Faust : Schoenberg, Debussy, and atonality ; Dance of the earth : the rite, the folk, le jazz ; Invisible men : American composers from Ives to Ellington ; Apparition in the woods : the loneliness of Jean Sibelius ; City of nets : Berlin in the twenties -- 1933-1945. The art of fear : music in Stalin's Russia ; Music for all : music in FDR's America ; Death fugue : music in Hitler's Germany -- 1945-2000. Zero hour : the U.S. army in Germany, 1945-1949 ; Brave new world : the cold war and the avant-garde ; Grimes! Grimes! : the passion of Benjamin Britten ; Zion park : Messiaen, Ligeti, and the avant-garde of the sixties ; Beethoven was wrong : bebop, rock, and the minimalists ; Sunken cathedrals : music at century's end.

Community Reviews

A spectacular introduction to 20th century classical music

Alex Ross has written a book that deals with the last century of music from many different angles: political, social, personal. If you know very little about modern classical music, this text introduces you to the important composers and pieces as well as why they are considered so highly in a way that is enjoyable to read and makes you want to hear the pieces as he discusses them. The approach to the music is very complex but never looses sight of the works themselves and how it feels to listen to them. The author also has provided samples of many of the pieces he discusses for free on his The Rest is Noise blog. Be careful, this book takes a long time to read as you will keep getting up to listen to new pieces and getting lost in music you never knew you would love.

Login to write a review of your own.