Follow a library on Twitter

To tweet or not to tweet, it’s a personal choice. Perhaps you’re one of the millions who are following Lady Gaga or Ashton Kutcher. Or perhaps you're more into following local goodness like the Ann Arbor News or the Ann Arbor Farmer’s Market.

October 1st is Follow a Library Day on Twitter. A day to celebrate libraries and let the Twitterverse know which libraries you love. Do you follow a library on twitter? Your own AADL has a twitter account, if you’re interested in keeping up with us. Or perhaps you’d like to show your love for the Canton Public Library, the Detroit Public Library, the Dexter District Library, or even the New York Public Library. Find your library online and follow it. Nearby libraries often promote their free public events on Twitter, so it’s a quick and easy way to see what’s coming up.

You can follow all the #followalibrary day buzz on their blog. Don’t forget to use #followalibrary as a hash tag! Which libraries do you follow?
Follow A LibraryFollow A Library

Celebrate the last week of September

October November Brochure 3October November Brochure 3
Celebrate the last few days of September by taking a computer class at the Ann Arbor District Library.

September 27th is Family Day - a day to eat dinner with your children. After dinner, your family may enjoy creating a slideshow together in the iDVD class at 7pm downtown.

September 28th is the birthday of Gwyneth Paltrow, an actress who received an Oscar for her performance in "Shakespeare in Love". If you love to write, learn how to create professional looking documents in the Microsoft Publisher class at the West branch at 7pm.

September 29th is the anniversary of the Dow Jones biggest drop, in 2008 it plunged 778 points. Come to Excel Basics at the Traverwood branch at 9:15am to learn how worksheets can help you track and manage data.

The last quarter phase of the moon begins at 11:52pm on September 30th. Learn how to insert the moon in your document in Microsoft Word Drawing at the West branch at 9:15am.

Registration is not required. Classes are filled on a first-come, first-served basis. Review the complete schedule online, pick up a brochure at any branch location, or call 327-4555 for schedule information.

See you in class.

October / November Computer Classes

October November Brochure 3October November Brochure 3

The computer class schedule for October and November is now available! Review the schedule online, pick up a brochure at any AADL location, or call 327-4555 for more information.

We are excited to offer a Genealogy Research class in honor of Family History Month in October. Join Bobbie Snow, genealogy lecturer and teacher and long-time member of the Genealogical Society of Washtenaw County, to learn how to use the two genealogy specific databases offered by the Ann Arbor District Library.

Due to popular demand, we are glad to offer a new class called Mac Office, learn how to use Microsoft Word, Excel and PowerPoint on a Mac.

Registration is not required. Classes are filled on a first-come, first-served basis and the classrooms will open 15 minutes before the class start times. Can't make it to class? Many of the class handouts are available online.

About AADL Computer Classes

FAQ (and answers) about computer classes at AADL!

Q. What does it cost to attend a computer class? A. There is no charge to attend a computer class at AADL!
Q. Do I need a library card to attend a class? A. No, everybody is welcome!
Q. Is registration required? A. Classes are filled on a first-come, first-served basis, with the training center opening 15 minutes prior to class start time. There is no registration.
Q. Where are classes held? A. At all AADL locations!: Downtown, Pittsfield, Malletts Creek, West, and Traverwood
Q. Which classes should I take? A. If you're a beginner, you may like Beginning Computers, File Management or Beginning Email. If you're looking for a job, you may be interested in Applying for Jobs Online or Social Networking for Job Search. If you're interested in learning more about the Internet try World Wide Web Tools, Facebook 101, Flickr, or Introduction to Google Documents. Or, if you're considering buying or selling things online try Craigslist or eBay.
Q. How can I find out more information about computer classes? A. For more information, check out our website - classes, handouts, pick up a brochure at any of our locations, or call 327-4555.

Fabulous Fiction Firsts #220

Alright, this one is definitely not for you if you are heading for the airport.

The Crashers* - a crack-team of National Transportation Safety Board experts is assembled in haste to investigate when a passenger plane slams into the ground outside Portland, Oregon.

Led by Leonard "Tommy" Tomzak, a pathologist, the team needs to determine if it is a terrorist attack, or worse yet, a trial run for something more devastating to come very soon.

In the meantime, in LA, Daria Gibron, a former Israeli agent, spots a group of suspicious-looking men whom she is certain, are responsible for the plane crash.

"A fresh and utterly compelling thriller, an original mix of action, investigation and a brilliant cast of characters that grabs the reader in the way few novels can and fewer do." - A must-read debut by Dana Haynes, and will sure to please fans of the master of aviation thriller John J. Nance (Blackout) , and a readalike for Hard Fall by Ridley Pearson, the undisputed king of white-knuckle adventures.

A sequel is anticipated.

* = Starred reviews

Comics Digital Workshops for Teens and Adults

drozd dinodrozd dino

Cartoonist Jerzy Drozd will teach you how to use Adobe Photoshop Elements to clean up your art, fill in line work with colors and halftones, create cool lettering, prep the finished page for printing, and more. Jerzy will provide one of his scanned comics pages for instruction but you can also bring your own comics page (scanned or unscanned) to work on.

Register at any information desk at any location or call 327-8301.

Comics Art Digital Coloring 101 for Teens Gr. 6-12 | Tues. August 17 | 1-3 pm OR 4-6 pm | Downtown 3rd Floor Computer Training

Comics Digital Coloring for Adults and Older Teens Gr. 9-12 | Wed. August 18 | 3-5 pm OR 6-8 pm | Downtown 3rd Floor Computer Training

The computer class AADL Catalog has been relocated

aadl.org

AADL Catalog has been relocated from Downtown to the West branch from 3:30 - 5:30 pm on Tuesday, July 13th.

See you in class!

Four New Classes in June and July

aadl.org

See you in class!!

iPad
Wednesday June 23, 2010: 3:30 pm to 5:30 pm -- Downtown Library
Wednesday July 14, 2010: 3:30 - 5:30 pm -- Downtown Library

Microsoft Excel Budget
Monday July 19, 2010: 3:30 pm to 5:30 pm -- West Branch

Microsoft Publisher
Monday July 19, 2010: 7:00 pm to 9:00 pm -- Pittsfield Branch

AADL Catalog
Monday June 28, 2010: 3:30 pm to 5:30 pm -- Pittsfield Branch
Tuesday July 13, 2010: 3:30 pm to 5:30 pm -- Downtown Library

Registration is not required. Classes are filled on a first-come, first-served basis. Classrooms will open 15 minutes before the class start times.

Thursday, May 13th is a Great Day to be a Beginner

aadl.org

We have two computer classes scheduled this Thursday that are perfect for beginnners. Come to Beginning Computers to learn about operating systems, the mouse, the keyboard, and the desktop. We'll practice opening programs, using the keyboard, copying/pasting and performing a Google search. Later in the same day we offer a great follow-up class to Beginning Computers, World Wide Web Tools. In this class we practice using internet browsers and search engines while learning internet terms such as links, blogs, and URL's.

Beginning Computers Thursday May 13: 9:15 am to 11:15 am -- Traverwood Branch
World Wide Web Tools Thursday May 13: 1:00 pm to 3:00 pm -- West Branch

Classes are filled on a first-come, first-served basis. See you in class!

Teen Stuff: Pulse It

Pulse It is an online reading program set up for teens. Teens ages 14-18 can join the community and read books for free online. Each month there are two books to choose from, you pick one and have 60 days to read it online. You can then chime in on the message boards and leave reviews of the book. Logging in each month also makes you eligible for a monthly drawing to win free stuff. The books are read by teens, discussed by teens, and reviewed by teens. A definite positive form of peer pressure! Check out the Pulse It site for all the fine details and to sign up.
Pulse ItPulse It

Syndicate content