Tom Brady Book Due Out Today

Tom BradyTom Brady

Moving the Chains: Tom Brady and the Pursuit of Everything by Charles P. Pierce is scheduled to be released today at bookstores. Why Halloween?

Last night on Monday Night Football Tom Brady picked apart what was thought to be a very good Minnesota defense, throwing four touchdown passes among his 29 completions in 43 attempts for 372 yards. He has three Super Bowl rings and has twice been the Super Bowl MVP.

Brady started every game for the Wolverines in 1998 and 1999. The Wolverines were 20-5 in games that Brady started, with a Big Ten co-championship and an Orange Bowl victory.

From the Publishers Weekly review: “Pierce offers a genial look at the unlikely rise of New England Patriots quarterback Tom Brady from embattled Michigan player through draft afterthought to multiple Super Bowl MVP. But while the book might seem late considering the Patriots won their third Super Bowl in four years in 2004, it actually benefits from Pierce using the team's trying 2005 season as a backdrop against which to highlight his main argument: that Brady's intangible abilities as a leader under any circumstances are worth far more than what can be measured with a stopwatch. In addition to stories from Brady's coaches and teammates that bear out this assessment, journalist Pierce serves up some entertaining prose.”

Theodore Taylor, beloved author of The Cay, has died

Theodore Taylor, beloved author of The Cay, has diedTheodore Taylor, beloved author of The Cay, has died

Theodore Taylor, author of the enduring 1969 classic The Cay, about a racist white boy marooned on an island in World War II with a wise black man, died Thursday, October 26, 2006, in California.

Taylor, a high school dropout who joined the merchant marines during World War II, earned a commission in the Navy, and then was called back to service during the Korean War. He used his wartime experiences and observations to write The Cay, which resonated so strongly across this country that 38 states put it on their required or recommended lists. It received a dozen literary awards and was made into a TV movie starring James Earl Jones.

Taylor, a prolific writer who penned fiction and non-fiction books for teens and adults, was 85 when he died.

All About Barack Obama...

Barack Obama is...the hottest name in politics these days! You've probably heard that Senator Obama may run for President in '08 (if Oprah has her way!) A lot is being written about Obama...and by Obama! Take a look at Harper's Magazine, November 2006 or Time Magazine, October 23, 2006, both available in the Library's Periodical Room. Or check out Obama's own writing in his autobiographical Dreams from My Father, and more recently in his new book calling for a 'new brand of politics'. All fascinating reads!

"Give me your tired..."

On October 28, 1886, the The Statue of Liberty was dedicated on Bedloe's Island in New York Harbor. Originally conceived by the French sculptor, Frederic Bartholdi who titled it "Liberty Enlightening the World," the statue symbolized immigrants' dreams of freedom and prosperity. Emma Lazarus' poem, "Collossus" contains the famous words inscribed inside the pedestal of the statue.

Fabulous Fiction First #39

When a young girl is murdered and mutilated and another disappears in Wind Gap, Mo., Chicago Daily Post reporter Camille Preaker returns to her hometown to cover the story. She is less than surprised with the cold reception after her long absence, especially at her mother's house.

Fans of Shirley Jackson and Minette Walters will welcome this debut psychological thriller by Gillian Flynn. In Sharp Objects, she writes "fluidly about small-town America", but what distinguishes this gruesome tale is the skills with which she misdirects the reader, allowing secrets to unfold only towards the shocking ending.

Flynn (Author interview) is the lead television critic for Entertainment Weekly, and Sharp has been endorsed by both Stephen King and Harlan Coben. Starred review in Library Journal. Can the film rights be far behind? Stay tuned.

New Fiction on the New York Times Best Sellers List (10/29/06)

Michael Connelly is my favorite American mystery writer. With his Hieronymous (Harry) Bosch series he has become the heir apparent to Raymond Chandler and Ross MacDonald. In these novels, Connelly explores the same strange and surreal southern California landscape. Harry may be just as ironic and world weary but he does not don the same famous blue raincoat as Philip Marlowe and Lew Archer. He is passionate in his fight for the lost innocents of his world. With splendid writing that evokes an aching nostalgia for a better world, Connelly creates his own films noir.

At #2 is Echo Park by Michael Connelly: Harry returns to solve a cold case.

At #3 is Act of Treason by Vince Flynn: A CIA agent investigates an attack on a presidential candidate. Is Flynn the heir to Tom Clancy?

At #6 is Short Straw by Stuart Woods: A Santa Fe lawyer wakes up to find his wife gone and his world turned inside out and upside down. Ed Eagle fights for his life and his good name.

Unsquared Book Group Meets Nov. 13, Downtown library

2nd Tuesday2nd Tuesday

The next 2nd Tuesday book group will discuss Unsquared: Ann Arbor Writers Unleash Their Edgiest Stories & Poems, a jointly published new work by Neutral Zone and 826michigan. Unsquared contains stories, poems, and essays by leading AA adult and teen writers.

To register call 327-8301. The next few teens to sign up will receive a copy of Unsquared to read and keep.

19th Annual Jewish Book Festival

The 19th Annual Jewish Book Festival will take place at the Jewish Community Center at 2935 Birch Hollow Drive from November 5-12. Speakers include a number of prominent authors such as journalist and radio commentator Steven V. Roberts who will open this years's festival with a talk about his book My Father's Houses: Memoir of a Family; Jeffrey Goldberg, the 'New Yorker' magazine's Washington correspondent; and editor Ruth Andrew Ellenson who'll speak on her anthology The Modern Jewish Girl's Guide to Guilt. For more information about the festival and the names of other speakes visit the Jewish Community Center web site.

Unsquared unleashed on Ann Arbor!

Soon to appear on AADL’s shelves - a new anthology, Unsquared: Ann Arbor Writers Unleash Their Edgiest Stories & Poems, jointly published by Neutral Zone and 826michigan. Sonja Brodie of AA News describes the anthology as “a mix of stories and poetry, with some essays thrown in for good measure. A final section focuses on previously unpublished work by young poets from this year's Youth Poetry Slam team. What these works have in common is that they are gritty and offbeat. . .”

Meet some of the contributors at Nicola’s Books this Friday, October 27 at 7:30 p.m. You’ll hear poet and novelist Laura Kasischke, quirky fictional writer Jeff Parker, Hopwood Award winning poet Scott Beal, rising poetic star Adam Falkner, and 2006 AA Youth Poetry Slam Team member Courtney Whittler.

Move over, Martha.

Amy Sedaris, everyone’s favorite comic shape-shifter and newly minted solo author, wants you to get drunk. On her witty repartee, that is (and maybe a few well-chosen cocktails). Her new book, I Like You: Hospitality Under the Influence delivers plenty of the expected sardonic humor, and some recipes, too. If you consider yourself a fan of both plastic food and Martha Stewart, this book is for you.

Syndicate content