Coming Soon: 3rd-5th Grade Short Story Challenge!

It's almost time for the second annual 3rd-5th Grade Short Story Challenge! Starting April 14, young writers will be able to submit a typed short story of five pages or less to either to the Downtown Youth Desk or by e-mail to youngwrite@aadl.org. Make sure you check the guidelines before you submit your story! Stories will be accepted from Monday, April 14 until Monday, May 5.

Need help writing a story or finding ideas? Check out this list of books for kids on writing at AADL. You can also visit these recommended websites for writing.

Keep an eye out for the final celebration on Tuesday, June 3 honoring all writers, featuring Lisa Wheeler as the guest speaker!

Please e-mail youngwrite@aadl.org or call the Youth Desk at 734-327-8301 with any questions, and happy writing!

PreK BITS - TOOLS


Ms. Rachel brought TOOLS and WORKSHOP to Storytime.
Many tools were introduced to sing along with OLD MacDONALD HAD A WOODSHOP by Lisa Schulman... and we built a toy barn.
Then the THREE LITTLE PIGS used tools to build their houses ... and make the soup ... to feed the Big Bad Wolf. We performed the "The Musical".
"WHO's Afraid Of The Big Bad Wolf ?"
Not ME!
"Tra-La-La-la-LAH!"
A version of the Action Song ... "Johnny Hammers" with one hammer ... can be found in the recording CIRCLE TIME SONGS & GAMES CD

for MORE Farm and Tool immersion ... try the following titles:
RECORDED:
ROLLER COASTER CD by Dylan Glanzer with the song "Old MacDonald's Farm At Night"
FAVORITE NURSERY RHYMES DVD by Baby Genius with "Old MacDonald Had a Farm" and many more classics.

PICTURE BOOKS:
DOES A WOODPECKER USE A HAMMER? Think About How Everyone Uses Tools
Richard Scarry's BEST NURSERY TALES collection of story classics including the THREE LITTLE PIGS.
The TRUE STORY OF The 3 LITTLE PIGS is from the WOLF's point of VIEW by Jon Scieszka.
The "TRUE" telling is especially fun for multiple age groups, because it teases older kids' imaginations.

... AND they sang E-I-E-I-O ... out the door ...

PreK SPOTlight - NEW Picture Books April 2014

... So I'm looking at the "Hot Fiction" list this week and these NEW PICTURE Books captured me!

Mo Willems' Pigeon tells a NEW story....
PIGEON NEEDS A BATH: I Do Not! ... yes you dooo ...

More NEW books for Preschool kids:
The GREAT DAY ... about Harry who is first UP, first OUT the door, first AT the table, and first ... TO bed!
MOONBEAR'S SUNRISE ... a Moonbear book by Frank Asch
HOW To BABYSIT A GRANDPA for those who need pointers...
UPSIDE DOWN BABIES ... something happened the day the world tipped ... and you may like to know what !

Performance Network: Richard III Re-imagined

Performance Network Theatre in downtown Ann Arbor will present a reimagined version of William Shakespeare's classic play Richard III from April 24 - June 1. From the PNT website: "... One of Shakespeare’s most famous histories gets an innovative ... treatment in this boldly re-imagined tale of power, treachery, seduction and fate. Performance Network Associate Artistic Director Carla Milarch stars as Richard, the ruthless and conniving Plantagenet, whose ascent to power is littered with corpses. This revolutionary take on the age-old classic explores the themes and fate of gender, power, and government set in the distant yet ominous future." Ticket information is here. The theater is located in downtown Ann Arbor at 120 E. Huron Street.

PreK BITS - Famous Mice

Ms. Rachel introduced her favorite MICE to Preschool StoryTime families.
YOU can find them too!

BOING BOING SQUEAK! is a bounce rhyme for a mouse around the house.
The Mouse who went on "The Journey" has several stories in MOUSE TALES ... a Reader by Arnold Lobel.
When we went WALK, Walk, Walking Around the Block ... we found "Something In My Shoe"! Do you know what fell OUT?
THERE'S A MOUSE In The HOUSE There really is! Now WHAT do we do?

If you think Mice are Nice ... here are stories of more famouse mice by "famous mouse" Authors:
CHRYSANTHEMUM and OWEN by Kevin Henkes.
MOUSE PAINT and BALANCING ACT ... by Ellen Stoll Walsh.
Monique Felix is a NEW Author and Illustrator of MOUSE books. Try ... The WIND, The ALPHABET and more. The mice seem truly alive in these concept books. You'll be glad to observe so closely ... and NOT see them move!

Amazon Teen Bestsellers: The Maze Runner

The Kindle Edition of The Maze Runner, by James Dashner currently is #5 on Amazon’s Best Sellers in Teen and Young Adult Books. In the book, sixteen-year-old Thomas wakes up in a maze with no memory. If he is to escape, he must work with his community. From Amazon: “Read the first book in the New York Times bestselling Maze Runner series, perfect for fans of The Hunger Games and Divergent." The Maze Runner motion picture is due out in September.

The Other Typist is a can't-put-it-down read!

The Other Typist, the first novel by Suzanne Rindell, is a gripping historical fiction psychological thriller. The book’s simple description does not prepare readers for the true suspense that lies between the pages! Set in New York City during the height of Prohibition, the story is narrated—somewhat unreliably—by the typist Rose, who works at a police precinct in the city. A self-described plain, old-fashioned girl, she is both horrified and entranced by the fashionable, wild new typist named Odalie who is hired at the precinct. The wily Odalie quickly befriends Rose, and as the lives of the two girls become more and more enmeshed, Rose’s fascination with Odalie turns into obsession.

Readers get the impression throughout the book that something is soon to go terribly wrong, but it is difficult to predict what this turning point in the story may be. The book progresses towards its shocking, but seemingly inevitable end at a brisk clip, while the author’s simple, yet fantastic descriptions of the clothes and atmosphere of 1920s New York set a stunning backdrop to the events of the novel. Initially expecting a quiet historical fiction story, I ended up finding that I could not put The Other Typist down. Fans of The Great Gatsby must give The Other Typist a try.

Parent’s Corner: Autism Awareness Month

April is National Autism Awareness Month, which highlights the growing need for concern and awareness about autism. “The US recognizes April has a special opportunity to educate the public and autism and issues within the autism community.” A potential resource to educate on this subject is in books found on the Parent Shelf.

The Downtown library has a shelf in the Youth Department known as the Parent Shelf. On this shelf you’ll find a variety of parent-child related books on a multitude of topics- including autism, and everything from language to potty training to safety to bullying. These books are available for checkout and can be found in the catalog when searching “parent shelf.” Here are a few to start with more information regarding children with autism:

*Autism Spectrum Disorders: What Every Parent Needs to Know
*Ten things every child with autism wishes you knew
*1001 great ideas for teaching & raising children with autism or Asperger's

AADL has many books in the collection on this topic – see here for more.

Take a family adventure with Larry & Pete!

With summer fast approaching, the whole family can share in the fun of vacation planning with the help of the Larry Gets Lost Series!
These fantastic books have brightly colored, retro-like illustrations and great rhymes that take your family on a journey with Larry and Pete through the streets of Seattle, New York and Chicago, to name a few. In every book Larry the dog lets the tasty smell of local foods lure him away from his good pal Pete and spends the day exploring a new city in his quest to be reunited with his boy. The stories combine fun verse, geography and history to create a wonderful travel guide for children and adults alike!

Yoga @AADL

Monday March 31 | 7:00 pm to 8:30 pm | Downtown Library: Multi-Purpose Room
This event is FREE and intended for adults and teens grade 6 and up

Spring is here, but after this tough winter, most of us are still trying to chase the winter blues away - and yoga can help! Join us for a clarifying and detoxifying yoga set with local yoga instructor Victoria Duranona. We will learn about how yoga can be used to detoxify the body, mind and emotions, while cleansing the blood through breathing and movement.

Please note: Bring your own mat or towel to sit/lay on and dress comfortably for the workout.

Syndicate content