Ages 18+.

New Fiction Titles on the New York Times Best Sellers List (4/2/06)

Do you plan to use your extra daylight savings on reading a good book? There are two new contenders on the List this week.

At #5 is Dirty Blonde by Lisa Scottoline: it can be dangerous being a judge when the plaintiff murders the defendant.

At #14 is What Price Love? by Stephanie Laurens: a reformed scoundrel helps a noblewoman rescue her gambling brother. Can love be far behind?

Why did Gandhi make salt?

m k gandhi

On April 6, 1930, Mahatma Gandhi made a silent but symbolic protest to British indifference to Indians' civil rights. He and his followers marched 241 miles, leaving March 12th and arriving in the city of Dandi on April 5th. The next day, he made salt by evaporating sea water. This was illegal because only royalty had the privilege of making salt and a heavy tax was placed on everyone else. This protest, in which thousands besides Gandhi were arrested, gained worldwide attention as an example of the effectiveness of non-violent resistance.

Michel Faber is on the shortlist for the National Short Story Prize

Michel Faber

Michel Faber's short story, Safehouse, taken from his novella The Fahrenheit Twins, which appears in The Courage Consort: Three Novellas, is shortlisted for the prestigious National Short Story Prize, now in its second year.

With its substantial purse of £15,000 ($26,303), this Scotland-based honor is to short stories what the Booker is to novels.

The other authors on the shortlist for this year's prize, which will be announced on Monday, May 15, in London, include Rana Dasgupta, William Trevor, James Lasdun, and Rose Tremain.

First-ever Lulu Blooker (blogs-to-books) Prize winners announced

Blooker Prize winners

Julie Powell, author of the wildly popular Julie and Julia: 365 Days, 524 Recipes, 1 Tiny Apartment Kitchen, was named overall winner of the Lulu Blooker Prizes for 2006. In her blog, Ms. Powell wrote of her determination to prepare every single recipe in Julia Child's Mastering the Art of French Cooking in a single year.

The 2006 Blookers, sponsored by Lulu, "...the world's fastest-growing provider of print-on-demand books...", coincide with the 450th anniversary of Gutenberg's moveable type, this putting lie to the predicted demise of the printed word.

The Blooker has three categories -- Fiction (Cherie Priest for Four and Twenty Blackbirds), Comics (Zach Miller for Totally Boned), and non-fiction (Ms. Powell).

Cory Doctorow, author of Essential Blogging, chaired the judges' panel.

Visions 2006: Low-Vision Vendor Fair

If your vision is diminished in any way, then come visit the fifty vendors at this wide ranging display and demonstration of products at the Morris Lawrence Bldg. on the campus of Washtenaw Community College, Wednesday, May 10, 10:00 am-4:00 pm. You will learn about services, supports and technologies to help individuals facing sight loss. Sighted assistants will be available, snacks, and Dr. David Zacks of the Kellogg Eye Center, will give a special talk on "New Frontiers in Vision Research: Fr

Fabulous Fiction Firsts #14 - The 2006 Edgar Nominees for Best First Novel

Mystery Writers of America 2006 Edgar (Allan Poe) Nominees for Best First Novel by an American author are:

Die A Little by Megan Abbott
Immoral by Brian Freeman (see blog)
Run the Risk by Scott Frost
Hide Your Eyes, by Alison Gaylin
Officer Down by Theresa Schwegel

The winner will be annouced on April 27th, in New York City.

Women In Science

4000 Women In Science is a site compiled by two astronomers. It features short biographies on some 125 women researchers along with active links to notable 20th Century women in sciences.

from "Website Reviews by John Peters", March 2006 School Library Journal, pg 89

Women + Math = More History

Did you know?
The actress Danica McKellar (better known as Winnie from The Wonder Years television show), graduated with highest honors from UCLA with a Bachelor of Science degree in mathematics, and is the co-author of a mathematical research paper published in the Journal of Physics A: Mathematical and General. Her accomplishments in mathematics have been profiled in the New York Times.

Wanna know some more about women in math? The website Biographies of Women Mathematicians features some 200 entries with information on women mathematicians who are not mentioned in standard histories of science. The articles are backed up with links to scholarly research.

from "Website Reviews by John Peters", March 2006 School Library Journal, pg 89

New Fiction Titles on the New York Times Best Sellers List (3/26/06)

Five new titles on the List this week featuring popular writers and introducing a new bestselling author from Great Britain.

At #2 is The Tenth Circle by Jodi Picoult: this author's popularity continues to grow with each new book about a family coping with one of today's hot-button issues; this time it is teens and date-rape.

At #8 is False Impression by Jeffrey Archer: a prison sentence has not hurt sales of his latest book about chicanery in the art world.

At #10 is Nightlife by Thomas Perry: this latest mystery involving the hunt for a woman serial killer has given the author some of the best reviews of his career.

At #12 is Labyrinth by Kate Mosse: another search for the Holy Grail, this British bestseller is latest contender for Dan Brown's place.

At #14 is Kill Me by Stephen White: what happens when you sign a contract to end your own life?

Fabulous Fiction Firsts #13 - Season of the Madonnas, Part 2

Not straightly a debut novel (though first in our collection)...
The Priest's Madonna is of the flesh-and-blood variety. It refers to Marie Dernanaud who is the housekeeper and secret lover to a charismatic village priest in Rennes-le-Chateau, France.
A set of curious artifacts unearthed during church renovations link this 19th century romance to Mary Magdalene and the Knights Templar.
Loosely based on a hazy historical event, Amy Hassinger's second novel is not just another Holy Grail want-to-be. It's "marvelously written, ...a rich fabric of love, mystery, anguish and faith". Starred review in Library Journal. Amy will be reading and signing April 6th and April 8th at these Michigan locations.
For fans of The Birth of Venus and Girl with a Pearl Earring.

Syndicate content