ages 11-18

Fabulous Fiction Firsts #31

Theodore "Teddy" Ruzak of Knoxville, TN is the bumbling but determined detective in Richard Yancey's entertaining mystery series debut The Highly Effective Detective.

Overweight and unschooled, Teddy quits his job as a night watchman to set up his own detective agency with a small inheritance. For his first case, Teddy is hired to track down a hit-and-run goose-killer. Before long, however, the case turns decidedly homicidal.

Endearing and colorful characters, suspenseful plots twists and witty dialogues make for a fun read. Highly recommended. Starred review in Publishers' Weekly. Definitely for fans of Monk and Columbo series.

Time for a couple short stories before SCHOOL starts

Treat yourself to a couple short stories before the school assigned book list comes your way. Every Man for Himself: Ten Short Stories, with 'Jump Away' by Rene Saldana, Jr. is a good place to start. In this story, a bully rounds up half-a-dozen outsiders, weak targets, whatever you want to call them, to jump off Jenson's Bridge just because Mike, the bully, says so. The hero of the story does some thinking when he's poised ready to jump from the bridge. What he comes up with is brilliant! A few other authors in the collection

Munch Masterpieces Found by Police

Scream

Police believe they have recovered The Scream and Madonna, two modern masterpieces, by artist Edvard Munch stolen from the Munch Museum in August, 2004. Both paintings were in better-than-expected condition, police said at a news conference.

“The pictures came into our hands this afternoon after a successful police action,” said Iver Stensrud, head of the police investigation. “All that remains is an expert examination to confirm with 100 percent certainty, that these are the original paintings. We believe these are the originals,” Stensrud said. Read the rest of the AP story Police recover stolen Munch masterpieces.

Sign up for September Book Group (Gr. 9-12)

Call 327-8301 to register for the September 11 book group and receive a free copy of Next Door Lived a Girl by Stefan Kiesbye. Read the book and meet on the 11th from 6:30-8 p.m. in the 4th floor conference room of the Downtown Library. Refreshments will be served. Meet the author, Stefan Kiesbye, 7 p.m. Tuesday, September 12 at the 2nd Tuesday presentation in the 4th Floor Board Room of the Downtown Library.

NOTE: This is the first in a series of monthly author events and related book discussions. You can receive Community Resource credits from the Ann Arbor Public Schools for participating – contact Jeff Kass at jeff@neutral-zone.org for more details.

ArmChair Travels - Sicily

What a way to travel and never leave the comforts of home! Every chapter in The Stone Boudoir: Travels Through the Hidden Villages of Sicily by Theresa Maggio can be read as a short story about a different village on the island of Sicily. The villages are unique from each other and the residents are memorably "alive". My favorite "visit" was to an ancient (and still inhabited) home built into granite walls with stone ledge balconies overlooking the valley below. Of course, the boudoir was in stone. I swear I felt the Medite

ArmChair Travels - Pakistan

Schools for Girls in remote Pakistan and Afghanistan? Built and thriving with the full support of village leaders? For more than the past fifteen years? Three Cups of Tea by Greg Mortenson and David Oliver Relin is the gripping true story of how this project started and continues in spite of wars, illiteracy, devastation and poverty in the region. Read more about Mortenson's efforts at Mortenson's official website. Mortenson was in Pakistan when his driver/bodyguard reported "A village called New York" had just been bombed.

AADL-GT Round 1 Results: TORTURIS EXUVIAS EUNT

This past weekend's tournaments included the AADL-GT 2006 Season Opener, and to the Turtles did go the spoils as the Savage Brothers and Turtle Clan flew to the top of the season leadboard, with [gtplayer:143] taking first place in both the single-player and team Mario Kart events, [gtplayer:146] making his way to the finals 3 times, and both of them leading their Clan to victory in the first ever Clan Battle. Read on for full details.

Thievery Has Never Been So Good

I feel like not many people know about this fantasy series by Megan Whelan Turner (see below). Maybe I am wrong; maybe it is not the secret gem I think it is, but, if not, if you're saying to yourself, "hey, dude, never heard of it", then check it out (both literally and figuratively!).

The first book, The Thief, won the newberry honor in 1997 and is a short novel with a clever twist (don't worry, I'm not spoilling anything; I knew there was a twist ahead of time and still couldn't figure it out!). Now, though I know people have heard of this first book, it's the second and third book in the series that I am not so sure people know about (but maybe I am wrong here). The second book,The Queen of Attolia, is where things really take off, in my opinion. The plot becomes much fuller, more complex, and more intense. Instead of one really great twist like in the first book there are several upon several untill your head starts to spin a little. The characters are ones you fall in love with, as is the way with any good book, especially the brash, rude, young thief who is the main character. The Third book The King of Attolia, has just recently come out and continues the storyline.

Maybe I just like the characters a little too much, but to me, these are lesser known, good books.

Scrapbooking !

Now's the time to pull together those pictures and clippings from that memorble event, trip, or sport season. The library will provide paper, stamps, and all the extras to put them on the page.
August 16th, Wednesday, from 2:00-4:00 pm at the Pittsfield Branch - Teen Program; no registration required.

Gen Con or Bust!

I went to Gen Con, the Best Four Days in Gaming, this weekend in Indianapolis. It was really awesome. I saw tons of new card games, board games, and role playing games. I also found out some cool stuff like the book Dragonology is now a board game. The new video game based on Eragon was available to play even though it doesn’t come out until November, and there was big talk about the movie coming out in December.

Syndicate content