ages 11-18

Audiobook for Broadway Lovers: Better Nate Than Ever

Read by the author (who happens to have been on Broadway himself), Better Nate Than Ever by Tim Federle offers an insider’s look into the world of Broadway auditions from a kid’s point of view. Thirteen-year-old Nate Foster is tired of being bullied and misunderstood in his hometown so, with the help of his best friend Libby, this Broadway-musical lover concocts a plan to run away to New York City and audition for E.T the Musical (inspired by Steven Spielberg’s E.T., of course). The adventure that follows is both hilarious and heartbreaking, and the narration is spot on through every emotional twist and turn.

The audiobook was a 2014 Odyssey Award Honor, an award given to the best audiobooks for children and teens.

Its sequel Five, Six, Seven, Nate! is also available in print.

Living with a Wild God: A Nonbeliever's Search for the Truth about Everything

I became a fan of Barbara Ehrenreich after reading her 2001 book Nickel and Dimed: On (not) Getting by in America. Her latest book, Living with a Wild God: A Nonbeliever's Search for the Truth about Everything is currently at the top of my to-read list, based on a review I just read in the April issue of the monthly journal BookPage. Ehrenreich, a scientist who has described herself as a "fourth-generation atheist," is a leading thinker and fabulous writer. Her book, a blend of memoir and metaphysical reflection, is reviewed under the headline "An atheist reconsiders the human 'situation.'" In the book, Ehrenreich writes about her childhood quest to find answers to universal questions such as "Why are we here?" As a middle-aged woman, she revisits her childhood mission and tells BookPage that yes, she believes that she has risen to the challenge made by her 1958 self, "What have you learned since you wrote this?" You can pick up a free copy of BookPage at any library location. You can place a hold on Living with a Wild God here. There currently are 24 requests on 5 copies.

2014 "It's All Write!" Contest Finalists!

The finalists of the “It’s All Write!” Teen Short Story Contest have been decided! This year was particularly difficult for our dedicated readers, who reported that all of the stories were incredibly creative and a pleasure to read. This year was also the most competitive year ever, reaching an all time record of 358 submissions!

Are you ready to find out who will make it to the next round? Finalists’ stories will be passed on to the Panel of Judges, who will carefully select the 2014 Winners. Click here to see the list of finalists!

Congratulations to all of the chosen finalists, and a hearty “THANK YOU!” to all the talented writers who contributed their stories to the “It’s All Write!” Contest this year! Let’s also give a round of virtual high fives to the readers- they put a lot of time into this process, and loved reading each and every story. Stay tuned for more judge blog posts, and see you at the awards ceremony on May 10!

A Story Reminiscent of Mad Men

The Lost Chapters is the true story of a Madison Avenue advertising man who experienced the glamour and success of the industry's heyday while ultimately being destroyed by it. Author Lisa Anderson's (she goes by Lise, locally) attempt to unravel her father's story comes from the manuscript he left behind before his mysterious death in Tokyo decades ago. Join us as we hear readings from her book on Wednesday, April 23rd from 7:00-8:30 in the Multi-Purpose Room downtown. Anna Byberg, Program Coordinator of Dawn Farm, will speak about the alcohol addiction that ultimately took Dick Anderson's life and will answer questions. AADL has a robust collection of books on the subject of alcoholism and addiction. Read more about the author's fascinating quest on her website. Her book will be on sale & Lise will be available for signing them.

"It's All Write!" FAQ

Do you have a burning question about the "It's All Write!" Teen Short Story Contest? Several writers have sent in similar questions about the contest, so hopefully you'll find the answers here. If not, feel free to email allwrite@aadl.org!

Frequently Asked Questions:

Q: When do I find out if I'm a finalist?
A: Finalists will be announced on or before Friday, April 11.

Q: When and where is the awards ceremony?
A: 2:00 pm on Saturday, May 10 at the Downtown Branch in the Multipurpose Room. The MPR is located downstairs, just past the Friends bookshop and to the left.

Q: When will you announce the contest winners?
A: The winners will be announced at the awards ceremony.

Q: What if I can't come to the awards ceremony?
A: We'd love to see you there, but it's also understandable that life (and sometimes distance) can get in the way. If you're a finalist, we'll let you know the outcome after the ceremony.

Q: Who can come to the ceremony?
A: ANYONE may attend! Bring your friends and family (pets have to stay home, sorry) and whoever else might want to come to enjoy a fun celebration of writing and hard work! More details coming soon!

Amazon Teen Bestsellers: The Maze Runner

The Kindle Edition of The Maze Runner, by James Dashner currently is #5 on Amazon’s Best Sellers in Teen and Young Adult Books. In the book, sixteen-year-old Thomas wakes up in a maze with no memory. If he is to escape, he must work with his community. From Amazon: “Read the first book in the New York Times bestselling Maze Runner series, perfect for fans of The Hunger Games and Divergent." The Maze Runner motion picture is due out in September.

Yoga @AADL

Monday March 31 | 7:00 pm to 8:30 pm | Downtown Library: Multi-Purpose Room
This event is FREE and intended for adults and teens grade 6 and up

Spring is here, but after this tough winter, most of us are still trying to chase the winter blues away - and yoga can help! Join us for a clarifying and detoxifying yoga set with local yoga instructor Victoria Duranona. We will learn about how yoga can be used to detoxify the body, mind and emotions, while cleansing the blood through breathing and movement.

Please note: Bring your own mat or towel to sit/lay on and dress comfortably for the workout.

Meet “It’s All Write!” Judge #8: James Kennedy

James Kennedy wrote his very first story when he was just seven years old. It was called “The Strange Ship,” which included characters called “money people”, terrifying creatures, and droids. He channeled this creativity into many opportunities, never missing the chance to try something new. Kennedy has lived in Japan, studied physics, joined a band, written a musical, dabbled in computer programming, and taught science in a middle school.

True to his creative nature, Kennedy pioneered the 90-second Newberry Film Festival, a contest that is now in its third year. Kennedy is best known for his published book, The Order of Odd-Fish, which was named a Smithsonian Notable Book for Children in 2008. His writing influences include Roald Dahl, Douglas Adams, and Madeleine L’Engle.

To learn more about James Kennedy, check out his website and blog.

Stay tuned for the rest of the “It’s All Write!” judges in forthcoming blog posts!

Teens Using Drugs: Education Series

The Dawn Farms Education Series, "Teens Using Drugs: What To Know and What To Do" is a free, two-part series that will be presented from 7:30-9:00 pm by Brian Spitsbergen MA, LLPC, on Tuesday, April 1, 2014 (part one, "What to Know"), and Tuesday, April 8th (part two, "What to Do"). The programs will be held in the “Exhibition Room” at the St. Joseph Mercy Hospital Education Center at 5305 Elliott Drive, Ypsilanti. This program is targeted primarily to parents/caretakers of teens & young adults but is inclusive of other family members, teens, professionals, students, people who sponsor or support teens, and others interested. Please contact 734-485-8725 or info@dawnfarm.org or see the link to teens using drugs for information.

UMSI MakerFest

Are you interested in finding out more about the University of Michigan’s new Bachelor of Science in Information degree? Would you like to watch a demo of Google Glass, see a 3-D printer in action, learn how to crochet, or play with some of AADL’s music tools? If so, then you should definitely check out the UMSI MakerFest on Wednesday, March 26th from 12-2 PM at the Michigan Union.

So what is a MakerFest? UMSI's MakerFest grew out of the Maker Movement, which encourages people to combine their love of crafts and DIY projects with innovative technologies. MakerFest is an opportunity for "makers" of all types to get together, try out new tools, and most importantly, make new things.

This event is cosponsored by the School of Information, the Center for Campus Involvement, Ann Arbor District Library, All Hands Active, MakerWorks, U-M Computer and Video Game Archives, and Michigan Makers.

You can find out more at the UMSI MakerFest Facebook page.

Syndicate content