Ages 2-5.

PreK BITS - Flossie And the FOX

Ms. Rachel brought foxes to Storytime !
The GINGERBREAD BOY went the way of all gingerbread cookies that ever came out of the oven... after he met the fox.
"A-Hunting We Will Go" started and ended with fox, and there were so many animals to rhyme with as we sang.
FLOSSIE And The FOX is the story of a clever girl who can outfox the fox.

Since Gingerbread and Runaway food motifs are common in folklore, here are more stories to try:
RUNAWAY LATKES by Leslie Kimmelman.
RUNAWAY PEPPERCORN a Hindi tale by Sucitrāi Rāmadurai.
RUNAWAY PUMPKIN by Kevin Lewis.
RUNAWAY RICE CAKE and RUNAWAY WOK by Ying Chang Compestine.
GINGERBREAD GIRL by Lisa Campbell Ernst.
GINGERBREAD BABY by Janet Squires.
GINGERBREAD COWBOY by
LET'S GO OUTSIDE ! tells how to play the outdoor game "A-Hunting We Will Go".
The LITTLE COOKIE by Margaret Hillert, is a version for beginning readers to master.

Hilarious new BIRD picture books!

School is back in session, but not everyone goes to elementary school: little birdies have to attend flight school! Or at least, those little birdies do who are SUPPOSED to learn how to fly. When Penguin arrives for HIS first day of flight school, Teacher is taken aback.

"But you, dear, are a penguin," she says.
"Undeniable," Penguin replies, "but I have the soul of an eagle."

So begins the hilariously told and illustrated story of Penguin's attempts to learn to fly in Lita Judge's Flight School. And just imagine what happens when Penguin decides to bring his friend Ostrich along for a lesson!

If you're interested in other goofy bird books, The ABC of Fabulous Princesses, by Willy Puchner, is a must-read. Prince William must find a wife, and all of the bird empresses are eager to impress him. Some are big, some are small, some are quiet, some are loud... but they all come from different countries bearing a unique gift for Prince William. Puchner's illustrations and rhymes are funny and fantastic. This is a great book not meant just for folks first learning their alphabet!

PreK Bits - "D" is for DAY at the Farm

Ms. Rachel brought Farm stories for Preschool Storytime this week.
In GOBBLE GOBBLE MOOoo TRACTOR BOOK by Jez Alborough ... Farmer Dougal did not get up one morning and the animals drove the tractor .... just pretend!
We sang "Farmer Brown Had 5 Red Apples" which can be found with other farm songs in the CD ABC and 123 Songs by Sharon, Lois and Bram...
Mr. Bingle needed help getting the last big apple from the top of his tree in APPLE PIE by Anne Wellington.
Both stories are fun, ... and unfortunately out of print, ... but you can still get copies through MelCat loans with your AADL card.

You can browse the webcatalog for farm stories or you can try some favorites listed below:
LITTLE APPLE GOAT by Caroline Church. The little goat who loves to eat apples ... unknowingly becomes the planter of the new apple trees.
CHARLIE And The NEW BABY by Ree Drummond, is a story of a new calf (with adorable pictures by Diane DeGroat) ... who needs extra attention while Charlie the dog is feeling neglected.
E-I-E-I-O: How Old MacDonald Got His Farm by Judy Sierra ... is a story that happens with the help of the Hen.
Henry is tired of an un-tidy farm so he creates HENRY'S MAP.
THESE BEES COUNT ... Farmer Ellen shows how to listen to the bees.
The NOISY FARM ... to practice lots of animal noises.
The YEAR At MAPLE HILL FARM ... an illustrated classic by Alice Provensen.

A Princess and a Pig Switch Places...

What would happen if a princess and a pig switched places? If you guessed a lot of laughs, you’re right! Check out Jonathan Emmett’s hilarious picture book The Princess and the Pig to find out exactly what happens when a princess is raised by pig farmers and a pig is raised… as a princess! Perfect for fans of Robert Munsch’s classic picture book The Paper Bag Princess, and my favorite picture book discovery this year.

Sleep Tight, Little Monsters!

Do you know a little monster who would like some sweet and silly (and maybe slightly icky) bedtime stories? Here are just a few of those included in AADL's picture book collection!

Hush, Baby Ghostling by Andrea Beaty
I'll simply remember all my gross ghostly things, and then I won't feel so bad! Baby Ghostling is scared for bedtime, but Mama has all the right tricks up her sleeve- she finds her little one's favorite skeleton doll, makes sure to "turn the darkness on" and evokes images of delightfully ghoulish beasties. Bright and enchanting illustrations will soothe even most apprehensive sleepers.

Goodnight, Little Monster by Helen Ketteman
Getting ready for bed could not be more adorable and gross! A cute monster child does everything he is supposed to- he eats his buggy nighttime snack, puts on his pajamas, and brushes his fangs. The illustrations are soft, with a perfect mix of cute and creepy.

Yeti, Turn Out the Light! by Greg Long
You would never expect such a big monster to be so scared of the dark! Yeti is the most nervous of sleepers, and turns the light back on whenever he sees a menacing shadow creeping up the wall. Luckily, he finds what caused the shadows- and it is not so scary after all!

NEW Picture Book: Princess Penelope and the Runaway Kitten

If you like cute and curious picture books, then you will love Princess Penelope and the Runaway Kitten! Little Penelope is delighted to play with a soft white kitten, who is entangled in a ball of knitting yarn. The chase is on as Princess Penelope runs after the kitten throughout the house, causing havoc and dragging yarn wherever it goes. This gentle story flows well with simple rhymes and would serve as an excellent lap book. My favorite element of this book is the glittery pink yarn, which readers can both see and feel winding in intricate patterns over the pages. For even more pink and pretty stories, check out Alice the Fairy or the wordless Flora and the Flamingo.

Furry Friends at the Tot Table

Check out all the furry forest friends at the tot table in the youth area of the Downtown Library. Possums dangle from the big tree and fawns curl up in their hidey hole. Raccoon chases squirrel through the log tunnel and watch out for those skunks! For real wildlife adventures make sure to visit Leslie Science Center or The Creature Conservancy or take a walk through Saginaw Forest while the beautiful weather holds!Youth animal toys 3Youth animal toys 3

Art Table: Chalk It Up!

Hey kiddos! Next time you’re in the youth area downtown visit the art table and see what’s new! This month we’re working with chalk. We have colorful sidewalk chalk and chalkboards ready for you to create a masterpiece, erase it, and start all over!

Chalk artist Julian Beever uses a technique called anamorphosis in his amazing 3D effect large scale chalk drawings. To read more about his process and see samples, check out the book Pavement chalk artist: the three-dimensional drawings of Julian Beever.

Picturebook Picks: The Shape of My Heart

The Shape of My Heart by Mark Sherring is a delightful, colorful picturebook that is perfect for reading aloud. Sherring takes the readers on a journey to discover all of the wonderful, beautiful shapes that we see in our everyday life. From the shapes of our eyes to the sun, from the shapes of the zoo to our hearts, this is a heartwarming book that is perfect for engaging in seek-and-find - “Where is the duck?” - play. The illustrations, colorful and bright, are a collage of animals, shapes, and objects that children will immediately recognize. In addition, these amazing illustrations are brought to life with added sound effects, from chirps to squeaks! Children will fall in love with the high level of interaction this every-color-of-the-rainbow book has to offer.

April Showers Bring May Fairies!

There is only one place that you can discover Library Rachel’s one-of-a-kind fairy babies. They are not for sale. You cannot find these unique fairies on Amazon. Disney cannot claim them. They could have chosen any fairy garden or fairy door in Ann Arbor. They appeared yesterday, out of the blue, and began to frolic on the Tot Table at the Downtown Library. They are so soft and funny and magical, with their chubby tummies and colorful wings, that we decided to adopt them and love them forever!

Syndicate content