Ages 5-11

PreK BITS - Flossie And the FOX

Ms. Rachel brought foxes to Storytime !
The GINGERBREAD BOY went the way of all gingerbread cookies that ever came out of the oven... after he met the fox.
"A-Hunting We Will Go" started and ended with fox, and there were so many animals to rhyme with as we sang.
FLOSSIE And The FOX is the story of a clever girl who can outfox the fox.

Since Gingerbread and Runaway food motifs are common in folklore, here are more stories to try:
RUNAWAY LATKES by Leslie Kimmelman.
RUNAWAY PEPPERCORN a Hindi tale by Sucitrāi Rāmadurai.
RUNAWAY PUMPKIN by Kevin Lewis.
RUNAWAY RICE CAKE and RUNAWAY WOK by Ying Chang Compestine.
GINGERBREAD GIRL by Lisa Campbell Ernst.
GINGERBREAD BABY by Janet Squires.
GINGERBREAD COWBOY by
LET'S GO OUTSIDE ! tells how to play the outdoor game "A-Hunting We Will Go".
The LITTLE COOKIE by Margaret Hillert, is a version for beginning readers to master.

Fantasy for Kids: A Snicker of Magic

There’s something magical about Midnight Gulch – or, at least, there used to be. When twelve-year-old Felicity Pickle moves to Midnight Gulch with her little sister Frannie Jo and their wandering-spirit mother, the only magic she is hoping to find is a home. Soon, though, Felicity is caught up in the story of how Midnight Gulch lost its magic and plots a way to break the old curse and bring the magic back.

If you enjoyed recent Newbery-Honor-winners like Savvy or Three Times Lucky, then you should definitely check out A Snicker of Magic by Natalie Lloyd. All three feature spunky heroines with unique, lyrical voices and surrounded by lovably quirky communities who support our heroines when they need them.

Caterina and the Perfect Party

In Erin Etter Kono’s book Caterina and the Perfect Party we meet Caterina, a little brown bird with big plans. Her most favorite thing in the world to do is make lists, but she hates surprises. You can imagine her delight when she gets to plan her very first party! What better opportunity for this bespectacled little cutie to write lists? She writes lists of her guests, lists of the most appetizing appetizers, lists of the most decorative decorations and gets to work carrying out all the creative things on her beloved lists. But on her big day she is faced with the biggest surprise of all. Oh no, a great big storm threatens to ruin her perfectly planned outdoor party! Never fear, soon her guests arrive bearing a replacement snacks, and they all have a fantastic day frolicking in the rain and mud. It is at this point that Caterina realizes her most important list is her list of friends.

PreK Bits - E is for EXceptions (and eggs)

Ms. Rachel brought stories about excellent eggs to Storytime.

We found out WHERE (the egg) and all the sleepyheads beds are ... during SLEEPYHEADS by Sandra Howatt.
We sang, danced and flapped wings to "Knees up Mother Chicken" ... along with the Chicken Limberjack.
We found out WHAT Mama Hen is up to .... on MAMA HEN'S BIG DAY by Jill Latter.

If you want to read more ... try these:
You can find out WHO comes out of eggs ... in EXCEPT IF .., CHICKENS AREN'T The ONLY ONES.
An Exceptional flight takes place in EGG DROP by Mini Grey.
How do you raise a dragon properly, if you happen to hatch one from The EGG?
It's Exceptional hijinks in MARLEY And The GREAT EASTER EGG HUNT.
Egg rivalry is experienced between ZINNIA And DOT until they learn to cooperate. heh!

Hilarious new BIRD picture books!

School is back in session, but not everyone goes to elementary school: little birdies have to attend flight school! Or at least, those little birdies do who are SUPPOSED to learn how to fly. When Penguin arrives for HIS first day of flight school, Teacher is taken aback.

"But you, dear, are a penguin," she says.
"Undeniable," Penguin replies, "but I have the soul of an eagle."

So begins the hilariously told and illustrated story of Penguin's attempts to learn to fly in Lita Judge's Flight School. And just imagine what happens when Penguin decides to bring his friend Ostrich along for a lesson!

If you're interested in other goofy bird books, The ABC of Fabulous Princesses, by Willy Puchner, is a must-read. Prince William must find a wife, and all of the bird empresses are eager to impress him. Some are big, some are small, some are quiet, some are loud... but they all come from different countries bearing a unique gift for Prince William. Puchner's illustrations and rhymes are funny and fantastic. This is a great book not meant just for folks first learning their alphabet!

PreK Bits - Carrots (and Rabbits)

Carrots grow from carrot seeds and this is how we know it ... from Ms. Rachel's Storytime this week!
The CARROT SEED a classic by Ruth Krauss was re-enacted (with musical accompaniment).
CARROT SOUP brings farm friends together in a big surprise ending!

You can do the veggie cheer .... as you make soup!!
Go! Go veggies! Go, go, go veggies!
Chop veggies to the right
Chop veggies to the left
Throw them in the soup pot
Where we like them BEST!

Here are more carrot (and Rabbit) stories when you have the time:
WE'RE RABBITS! by Lisa Westberg Peters
The GIANT CARROT by Jan Peck, a carrot adaptation of a Russian Folktale.
RABBIT FOOD by Susanna Gretz. Young John Rabbit has a surprising dislike for .... ?
CHRISTOPHER COUNTING by Valeri Gorbachev. Christopher Rabbit has a new skill ... counting things.
When you feel adventurous and silly ..... try:
CREEPY CARROTS by Aaron Reynolds.
RABBIT And The NOT-SO-BIG BAD WOLF by Michael Escoffier.

Ghost Stories

If your kids are anything like mine they’re already planning for Halloween. It just can’t be helped with the feel of fall in the air and the local stores already stocking spooky decorations and treats. The Ann Arbor District Library has a plethora of books to help feed your ghostly appetite and really get the hairs on the back of your neck to stand on end. The books Ghosts of the Alamo, Ghosts of Alcatraz, Ghosts of Gettysburg, and Bachelor’s Grove Cemetery will send readers on trips through different parts of the United States that claim to have ghostly inhabitants. Each book has eerie pictures and real life accounts of ghostly sightings and spooky encounters. You'll visit the sights of haunted hotels, creepy caves, ghastly graveyards and more. The series isn't too scary for the timid, but eerie enough that ghost-lovers will want to read the whole set!

A Princess and a Pig Switch Places...

What would happen if a princess and a pig switched places? If you guessed a lot of laughs, you’re right! Check out Jonathan Emmett’s hilarious picture book The Princess and the Pig to find out exactly what happens when a princess is raised by pig farmers and a pig is raised… as a princess! Perfect for fans of Robert Munsch’s classic picture book The Paper Bag Princess, and my favorite picture book discovery this year.

A Southern Charmer for Children

You’ve heard of Bigfoot, but have your heard of his cousin, the Sugar Man? Well, in Kathi Appelt’s The True Blue Scouts of Sugar Man Swamp, you can learn all about the illusive Sugar Man and the creatures who call his Texas swamp their home.

As the story opens, raccoon brothers Bingo and J’miah have been charged with waking the Sugar Man if the swamp comes under danger. And of course, danger arrives right on schedule. But before it does, readers are treated to two richly interwoven stories – one about a pair of young raccoons trying to prove their merit as Swamp Scouts and another about a twelve-year-old boy trying to save his family’s restaurant after his grandfather’s death. Filled with fantastic turns-of-phrase, if you enjoy books with a strong Southern voice, then you’ll love this one. Plus, the audiobook is narrated by native Texan Lyle Lovett who adds a wonderful Southern charm to this story.

Furry Friends at the Tot Table

Check out all the furry forest friends at the tot table in the youth area of the Downtown Library. Possums dangle from the big tree and fawns curl up in their hidey hole. Raccoon chases squirrel through the log tunnel and watch out for those skunks! For real wildlife adventures make sure to visit Leslie Science Center or The Creature Conservancy or take a walk through Saginaw Forest while the beautiful weather holds!Youth animal toys 3Youth animal toys 3

Syndicate content