Hurston/Wright Legacy Awards

The Hurston/Wright Foundation announced the winners of its 2005 Hurston/Wright Legacy Awards on Tuesday, November 1, 2005.

Winners in the four categories are:

Maryse CondéWho Slashed Celanire’s Throat

Debut Fiction
Chris AbaniGraceLand

Alexis De VeauxWarrior Poet: A Biography of Audre Lorde

Contemporary Fiction
Tracy Price-ThompsonA Woman’s Worth (this will be ordered November 15, 2005)

The mission of the Foundation, founded in 1990 by novelist Marita Golden, is “…to develop, nurture and sustain the world community of writers of African descent.” Named after two giants of literature, Zora Neale Hurston and Richard Wright, the Legacy Awards are in their 6th year and have honored such esteemed authors as Mat Johnson, Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, and Wil Haygood.