The Giller Prize


Founded by Jack Rabinovitch in 1994 to honor the memory of his late wife Doris, The Giller Prize is dedicated to celebrating the best in Canadian fiction each year.

Past winners include Alice Munro (2004) and Michael Ondaatje (2000).

This year's finalists are:

Luck by Joan Barfoot
The Time In Between by David Bergen
Sweetness in the Belly by Camilla Gibb
Alligator by Lisa Moore
A Wall of Light by Edeet Ravel

The winner will be announced on November 8th. I expect U.S. publishers are already scrambling for the rights.