Who Were the Judges of the 2010 Short Story Writing Contest?

short storyshort story

Who Were the Judges for the 2010 Teen Short Story Writing Contest?

6-7-8 Judges
Kathi Appelt - A member of the faculty at Vermont College's Master of Fine Arts program and part-time teacher of creative writing at Texas A&M University. Ms. Applet has two grown children, and lives in Texas with her husband and four cats. Her debut novel, The Underneath, was a National Book Award finalist and a Newbery Honor book. http://www.kathiappelt.com/

Neal Levin – A cartoonist, illustrator, and writer, Neal’s work has appeared in Madkids, Games, and Spellbound Magazines. http://www.neallevin.com/

Jo Whittemore – Author of three published fantasy novels, Escape from Arylon, Curse of Aratold, and Onaj’s Horn. Her fourth novel, Front Page Face-Off was released in March 2010. http://www.jowhittemore.com

Maryrose Wood – Released in 2010 to great reviews, The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place is a mystery with humor. http://www.maryrosewood.com

9-10 Judges
Evelyn Coleman – Writer of books for all ages, Ms. Coleman has written Freedom Train, which was nominated for an Edgar Award, and Born in Sin, a Junior Library Guild selection. She is also the recipient of the 38th Annual Georgia Author of the Year Award. http://www.evelyncoleman.com

David Lubar – In addition to designing and programming video games, Mr. Lubar has written several award winning books. Among them, Sleeping Freshman Never Lie, Winner of Michigan’s ‘Thumbs Up’ Award for best teen book of 2006, other titles include, Flip, Hidden Talents, and Dunk. You can find several of David’s short stories in collections edited by Don Gallo. He’s also said to be one of the funniest guys around. http://www.davidlubar.com

Kerry Madden – Ms. Madden writes books and teaches writing workshops. Her books include Writing Smarts: A Girl’s Guide to Writing Great Poetry, Stories, School Reports, and More!, and three ‘Maggie Valley’ novels set in North Carolina in the sixties. http://www.kerrymadden.com

11-12 Judges
Stephanie Feldstein –is the Editor of Change.org’s animal welfare and wildlife community. She has a B.A. in Creative Writing from the University of Michigan, where she received a Hopwood Award for poetry. Downward Dog is her first novel, inspired by her experience as a pit bull advocate, humane society volunteer, and owner of several spoiled rescue dogs.

Patrick Jones – Patrick is a former librarian and now focuses on writing fiction for teens. His teen novel Things Change was named by YALSA as a best book for reluctant readers. He is also well known for the ultimate teen reference book, Connecting With Young Adults and Libraries: A How to do it Manual. http://http://www.connectingya.com/

Laura Williams McCaffrey – A former librarian, Ms. McCaffrey writes and teaches writing full-time. Water Shaper was selected for the New York Public Library Books for the Teen Age 2007 list. Another title, Alia Waking was named an International Reading Association notable Book. Laura is on faculty at Solstice, the low-residency MFA in Creative Writing Program at Pine Manor College. http://www.laurawilliamsmccaffrey.com