The Fault in Our Stars Readalikes!

As we all know, the movie adaptation of John Green’s insanely popular The Fault in Our Stars was released earlier this month. If you’ve already read the book and seen the movie, you might be looking for new books to read that will satisfy your craving for stories similar to Fault. Here are some good suggestions to start with:

Eleanor and Park and Fangirl, both by Rainbow Rowell, deal with similar themes: falling in love for the first time, finding your place in the world when you feel as though you don’t always fit in, and coping with familial issues. These are great for adult readers too!

The Perks of Being a Wall Flower, by Stephen Chbosky is an “oldie but a goodie.” The book is told through the letters of 15-year-old Charlie to an anonymous friend and details the struggles of his freshman year of high school. If you missed reading this poignant, emotional novel the first time around, now is a great time to give it a shot! And, there’s a movie adaptation of this one too!

13 Reasons Why, by Jay Asher, opens with Clay Jensen coming home from school to find a package for him on his porch from his former classmate and crush, Hannah, who committed suicde two weeks prior. The contents of the package are 13 cassette tapes, each with Hannah’s recorded voice explaining a reason why she killed herself. If Clay listens to all of them, he will not only find out why she chose to do so, but he will also learn some fundamental truths about himself.

The Spectacular Now, by Tim Tharp, tells the story of the unexpected love between to very different teenagers: smart, quiet and somewhat clueless Aimee, and party-boy Sutter. When the two meet unexpectedly one day, they forge an immediate bond and help each other through the turmoils of their senior year of high school. Although the book is largely a love story, other tough subjects like alcoholism, familial abuse, and poverty wind their way through the story as well. In the movie version, The Fault in Ours Stars heroine Shailene Woodley stars as Aimee!

John Green also has quite a few other books in our collection, including Will Grayson, Will Grayson, An Abudance of Catherines, Paper Towns and Looking for Alaska that are all wonderful reads.

Comments

I'm a big John Green fan! I'm glad to see a list of readalikes.

I highly recommend the above Will Grayson Will Grayson and Eleanor and Park! I really loved both books.

Another great JGreen readlike is Winger by Andrew Smith. A lot of Smith's books are written in a similar voice with a strong coming-of-age story.


Thanks for the suggestions, manz! I haven't read Winger, but it looks great, and perfect for fans of The Fault in Our Stars.


I really dig these Readalike posts, thanks!


i love john green books


John Green is so amazing. I love watching crash course and vlogbrothers.


Great recs! I absolutely adore Rainbow Rowell. I'd also recommend "It's Kind of A Funny Story" by Ned Vizzini.


thanks for the suggestions!


And don't forget about the fabulous A.S. King's books! Her books are great realistic fiction that totally falls into the "Greening of YA" category. Check it out! I highly recommend Everybody Sees the Ants and Please Ignore Vera Dietz!


Perks of Being A Wallflower was good and I just loved the movie!


I haven't watched the movie or read the books but my friends say it's really good.


I loved this book soooo much