New DVDs

Recently available on DVD is the 1962 winner of the Academy Award for best documentary The Black Fox: The Rise and Fall of Adolf Hitler and this year's The Goebbels Experiment. Three stellar films exploring Nazi occupation and the Holocaust are the recently restored Czech masterwork The Fifth Rider is Fear, about an aging Jewish doctor who is forbidden to practice medicine in Prague during the Nazi occupation; Image Before My Eyes, a photographic history of Jews in Poland between the two World Wars; and Volker Schlöndorff's The Ninth Day, starring the remarkable Ulrich Matthes--he played Goebbels in 2004's Downfall--who, "with his spooked, black-eyed stare burns with rage and mortification" (New Yorker) as an anti-Nazi Catholic priest given nine days reprieve from his internment at Dachau in 1942 to return home for his mother's funeral.

Theodore Taylor, beloved author of The Cay, has died

Theodore Taylor, beloved author of The Cay, has diedTheodore Taylor, beloved author of The Cay, has died

Theodore Taylor, author of the enduring 1969 classic The Cay, about a racist white boy marooned on an island in World War II with a wise black man, died Thursday, October 26, 2006, in California.

Taylor, a high school dropout who joined the merchant marines during World War II, earned a commission in the Navy, and then was called back to service during the Korean War. He used his wartime experiences and observations to write The Cay, which resonated so strongly across this country that 38 states put it on their required or recommended lists. It received a dozen literary awards and was made into a TV movie starring James Earl Jones.

Taylor, a prolific writer who penned fiction and non-fiction books for teens and adults, was 85 when he died.

All About Barack Obama...

Barack Obama is...the hottest name in politics these days! You've probably heard that Senator Obama may run for President in '08 (if Oprah has her way!) A lot is being written about Obama...and by Obama! Take a look at Harper's Magazine, November 2006 or Time Magazine, October 23, 2006, both available in the Library's Periodical Room. Or check out Obama's own writing in his autobiographical Dreams from My Father, and more recently in his new book calling for a 'new brand of politics'. All fascinating reads!

"Give me your tired..."

On October 28, 1886, the The Statue of Liberty was dedicated on Bedloe's Island in New York Harbor. Originally conceived by the French sculptor, Frederic Bartholdi who titled it "Liberty Enlightening the World," the statue symbolized immigrants' dreams of freedom and prosperity. Emma Lazarus' poem, "Collossus" contains the famous words inscribed inside the pedestal of the statue.

Diddy Comes Back

It does not matter if you call him Diddy or P. Diddy. He is back on the Billboard 200 Chart with his first number one cd in nine years entitled Press Play. Even though the cd is number one, it is the lowest first week sum of his solo career. Will the cd be number next week?

Fabulous Fiction First #39

When a young girl is murdered and mutilated and another disappears in Wind Gap, Mo., Chicago Daily Post reporter Camille Preaker returns to her hometown to cover the story. She is less than surprised with the cold reception after her long absence, especially at her mother's house.

Fans of Shirley Jackson and Minette Walters will welcome this debut psychological thriller by Gillian Flynn. In Sharp Objects, she writes "fluidly about small-town America", but what distinguishes this gruesome tale is the skills with which she misdirects the reader, allowing secrets to unfold only towards the shocking ending.

Flynn (Author interview) is the lead television critic for Entertainment Weekly, and Sharp has been endorsed by both Stephen King and Harlan Coben. Starred review in Library Journal. Can the film rights be far behind? Stay tuned.

Are you ready to bring SexyBack?

Justin TimberlakeJustin Timberlake

I know you've already heard Justin Timberlake's "My Love" & "SexyBack." Now check out the entire FutureSex/LoveSounds album. You won't be disappointed... I promise!

Oh yeah, after you've listened to the CD a few times, come back to this blog and let us know what you think...

New Fiction on the New York Times Best Sellers List (10/29/06)

Michael Connelly is my favorite American mystery writer. With his Hieronymous (Harry) Bosch series he has become the heir apparent to Raymond Chandler and Ross MacDonald. In these novels, Connelly explores the same strange and surreal southern California landscape. Harry may be just as ironic and world weary but he does not don the same famous blue raincoat as Philip Marlowe and Lew Archer. He is passionate in his fight for the lost innocents of his world. With splendid writing that evokes an aching nostalgia for a better world, Connelly creates his own films noir.

At #2 is Echo Park by Michael Connelly: Harry returns to solve a cold case.

At #3 is Act of Treason by Vince Flynn: A CIA agent investigates an attack on a presidential candidate. Is Flynn the heir to Tom Clancy?

At #6 is Short Straw by Stuart Woods: A Santa Fe lawyer wakes up to find his wife gone and his world turned inside out and upside down. Ed Eagle fights for his life and his good name.

Unsquared Book Group Meets Nov. 13, Downtown library

2nd Tuesday2nd Tuesday

The next 2nd Tuesday book group will discuss Unsquared: Ann Arbor Writers Unleash Their Edgiest Stories & Poems, a jointly published new work by Neutral Zone and 826michigan. Unsquared contains stories, poems, and essays by leading AA adult and teen writers.

To register call 327-8301. The next few teens to sign up will receive a copy of Unsquared to read and keep.

Michigan Voter Guide

flagflag

The League of Women Voters of Michigan has released the Nonpartisan Michigan Voter Guide 2006 for the November 7th general election. The guide covers all state-level candidates and ballot proposals. In-depth analysis of ballot proposals are available from the Citizens Research Council of Michigan. To find out where you vote in Michigan and what type of voting equipment you’ll use, visit Publius or Michigan Votes.

Syndicate content