The Play Ground

The Play Ground

Ah, Chelsea in the summer. A perfect place to browse the shops, have a bite and see a wonderful play at the Purple Rose Theatre. Check out the current production: the Midwestern Premiere of Honus and Me, a play, adapted from the Dan Gutman novel by Steven Dietz, about a Little League player who finds the most valuable baseball card in the world while cleaning an elderly neighbor’s attic. Filled with baseball history, time travel and romance, this story goes to the 1909 World Series between Ty Cobb’s Detroit Tigers and Honus Wagner’s Pittsburgh Pirates and back again. June 22 - August 26, 2006, 734 433-7673

Learn the art of book design

Are you interested in learning a new hobby this summer? Do you love books? If you said "yes!" to both questions then check out our books on the art of book design and bookbinding! Consider taking a book or paper art class at Hollander's School of Book and Paper Arts in historic Kerrytown. Try making your own journal or scrapbook and filling it with summertime observations and thoughts, for a truly handcrafted summer.

New and Notable Hindi Language Films

Below are a few award winning and recently purchased Hindi language DVDs in the Library's collection. Check out this catalog listing of our Hindi language titles or try a keyword search for "Hindi language" and choose "DVDs" from the Material Type box.

In Sholay, India's best-known "curry" western, two adventurous crooks are hired by an ex-cop to hunt down the dreaded dacoit who massacred his family.Dil Chahta Hai tells the story of three college friends who were inseparable despite their different conceptions of love. In Maya, a young woman's simple life in rural India is shattered when she becomes the victim of an ancient and brutal ritual. Parineeta tells the tale of two childhood neighbors whose path to matrimony is strewn with the usual round of family and business obstacles. "A treat for the eyes...high-end Bollywood near its best." (Variety)

Celebrate July 4 with a bang!

July 4 is one week from today, and that usually means fireworks and impressive visual shows. But with those shows are often pretty impressive classical music pieces themselves.

One of the staples of brass is the 1812 Overture, by Peter Tchaikovsky, a piece that celebrates the Russian victory over Napoleon's army. Done properly, the piece calls for cannons, and is one of the loudest pieces in classical music, but most orchestra halls are a little leery of firing grapeshot into the audience.

A Splash of Pops or Mr. Holland's Guide to Classical Music have the piece in their collection, but if you're interested in more of Tchaikovsy's work, you can check out his symphonies, as well.

Worries: Global Warming

Al Gore is concerned about global warming and has a movie and a book explaining the problem. The movie is at the Michigan Theater, the library has the book:
An Inconvenient Truth: the Planetary Emergency of Global Warming and What We Can Do About It by Al Gore

Three other recent excellent books on global warming:

Field Notes from a Catastrophe: Man, Nature, and Climate Change by Elizabeth Kolbert
The Weather Makers: How Man is Changing the Climate and What It Means for Life on Earth by Tim F. Flannery
The Winds of Change: Climate, Weather, and the Destruction of Civilizations by Eugene Linden

When I got home from watching Al Gore's movie I turned on the TV. John Edwards was talking about poverty. He heads the Center on Poverty, Work, and Opportunity at the University of North Carolina and has an extensive speaking schedule. And it is only 2006.

Beach Reads 2006 (#3)

beachread3

His Majesty's Dragon* by Naomi Novik. Alternate history set in the Napoleonic Wars, flying dragons and sea battles make for a fantastic read.

The Last Spymaster by Gayle Lynds. Young maverick CIA agent matches wit with a legendary spymaster. Complex and engrossing.

Looking for Mr. Goodfrog by Laurie Graff Searching for one's prince in the rather muddled urban dating pond. Deadly hilarious.

Love in the Present Tense by Catherine Ryan Hyde. An engaging encore from the author of Pay it Forward, on the many incarnation of love and the nature of family.

Make Him Look Good* by Alisa Valdes-Rodriguez. Six women and their relationships with one Latin heartthrob. Sexy fun.

The Penultimate Chance Saloon* by Simon Brett. Comedy of sexual manners for a mature single guy, with wit and compassion. For fans of Julie and Romeo and Philosophy Made Simple.

The Virgin of Small Plains* by Nancy Pickard. Love and deceit behind a 17-year-old unsolved murder in a small town. A stand-along from the award-winning author of the Jenny Cain and Marie Lightfoot series. A must for Cold Case fans.

The World to Come* by Dara Horn. Two siblings are tangled up with a stolen Chagall of suspect provenance, Jewish folklore and family history. Intelligent and imaginative.

* = Starred reviews

Meet the Notebook Girls

Meet Sophie, Courtney, Lindsey, and Julia, four teens that began a shared notebook that served as a joint diary during their freshman year at Manhattan’s Stuyvesant High School. Reproduced from the girls’ notebook with handwritten entries as well as photocopied snapshots, sketches, etc., The Notebook Girls reveals with raw honesty what it’s like to grow up female in today’s world. A fascinating nonfiction read.

Catch an interview with three of the notebook girls (now college freshmen) as they talk about how their diary became a book.

Book Bits - Lost and Found

Where's My Sock? Are you a loser? You could be a finder too? Read this book together to find a clever solution to a common problem.

Worldly Bits - Romani People

A History Of The Romani People is a NEW book on how Romani people live in Europe. You learn about these interesting people through photos, maps, and clear description. Wouldn't you wish to live in one of the painted wagon houses? Add music to the experience with the compact disc Latcho Drom. The documentary VHS Latcho Drom: Safe Journey is a memorable music and dance journey that follows Romani people from their origins in Rajasthan, as they blend cultures through Europe and North Africa.

Baby Bits - Two Beauties

Two beautiful books for toddlers and adults to enjoy together are Walk On! A Guide For Babies Of All Ages and Mama's Day.

Syndicate content