Love Chooses Us: Quirky fiction for the romantic at heart

Lamb in love by Carrie Brown. .
True love comes crashing into the life of the middle-aged postmaster of a small English country town.

The Madness of Love by Katherine Davies
A charming romantic comedy of contemporary manners and a sly modern take on Shakespeare's Twelfth Night. Published in Great Britain in 2004 as A Good Voyage.

Skylight Confessions by Alice Hoffman .
“A gothic fairy tale of doomed passion, shimmering, multigenerational melodrama bewitches with supernatural imagery”. Heartbreaking.

The Giant's House : a romance by Elizabeth McCracken.
The peculiar and unique relationship between a lonely spinster librarian and a boy 14 years her junior.

The Rug Merchant by Meg Mullins.
Finding love in the most unlikely places, when one least expects it. A must read first novel.

Selling the Lite of Heaven by Suzanne Strempek Shea.
A woman jilted for God, a 2.75-karat engagement ring and strangers knocking at the door. Rich, funny and gentle.

The Train Home by Susan Richards Shreve.
Troubled families, dark secrets, and the irresistible, nearly magical forces of fate and love plays out on a train bound for New York.

Mazie just reminded me of one of our favorites:
The Second Coming of Lucy Hatch by Marsha Moyer.
An engaging tale of love, life, and second chances, set in a small Southern town. For fans of Billie Letts, Adriana Trigiani, and Lorna Landvik. Trust us on this one...

Swedish novelist Marianne Fredriksson has died

Swedish novelist Marianne Fredriksson has diedSwedish novelist Marianne Fredriksson has died

Marianne Frediksson, a Swedish author who enjoyed considerable international success with several novels, died February 11, in Sweden.

A former journalist, Fredriksson published her first novel at the age of 53.

Hannah’s Daughters was her first novel to be translated into English (1998). A multi-generational saga of women trying to carve out a better life for their children, Hannah’s Daughters was compared to the work of Ingmar Bergman. Simon’s Family, another family saga, is set in World War II.

Ms. Fredriksson was 79.

Culture Bits - Chinese New Year

Gung Hay Fat Choy! Reading transports you into the Chinese-American experience. If you are reading chapter books in grade school, try Year Of The Dog; Day The Dragon Danced; Shanghai Messenger; Three Names Of Me; or The Traitor: Golden Mountain Chronicles 1885.

Holiday Bits - Gung Hay Fat Choy

Celebrate the Chinese New Year and share the chinese-american experience! If the kids are preschool ages or early elementary school, read D Is For Dragon; The Runaway Rice Cake; A Dragon New Year; Fortune Cookie Fortunes; and make some crafts from Chinese New Year Crafts.

Little Folk Mania Continues

We have so many fairy fans coming into the Downtown Library to visit the tiny tricky ones who have moved into the fairytale section. When we see a book filled with fairy magic we just have to tell you about it. Barb Bentler Ullman’s story The Fairies of Nutfolk Wood, is about broken hearted Willa Jane who discovers a world of little people in the forest. Her brand new big and little friends bring adventure, fun and healing into her life.

Calling All Bird Counters

Join beginners and experts in the 10th annual Great Backyard Bird Count Feb. 16-19, 2007. Take part wherever you are – at home, in school, at a local park. Have a field guide to Michigan birds handy. For extra fun, try identifying our feathered friends by their birdsongs.

Fred Mustard Stewart, author, has died

Fred Mustard Stewart, popular novelist who wrote across several fictional genres, died Wednesday, February 7, in New York City.

Stewart’s first novel, The Mephisto Waltz (1969, out of print) a creepy horror tale of an aging concert pianist who inhabits the body of a young writer, was made into a movie by Alan Alda two years later.

However, it was his large body of family sagas, framed by U.S. history, that built his popularity. Century, The Titan, and The Magnificent Savages (the first of four volumes to track a larger-than-life American family dynasty), are still in demand.

Stewart was 74.

Welcome Back

After a three year absence from the Billboard 200 Chart, Norah Jones has her third number one cd on the chart with Not Too Late. You can see Norah Jones at michtheater.org Friday, May 4 at 7:30 pm. Tickets go on sale February 14 at 10:00 am.

Future Politics

What happens when you mix political intrigue with people who pilot massive robots? You get The Scorpion Jar by Jason M. Hardy. The story is set in the Battletech/MechWarrior universe. Set on Earth, the Exarch Damien Redburn calls a meeting of the Paladins to elect his replacement. The Paladins assemble from all corners of The Republic, each one attempting to persuad the others elect him/her as the new Exarch. Wonderful writing makes this book a great read for any science fiction fan.

Syndicate content