New TV shows on DVD @ AADL

The library is always acquiring additional TV shows, be they hot and new, or oldies but goodies. Here are some new mystery series from the UK on their way to AADL:

Broadchurch, Season 1
When the body of eleven-year-old Danny Latimer is found on the beach in Broadchurch on the Dorset coast, Detective Sergeant Ellie Miller and her newly-appointed boss, Detective Inspector Alec Hardy, are called to investigate. As suspicions mount and the mystery deepens, a national spotlight descends upon Broadchurch, threatening to pull the town, its residents and their secrets apart.

The Broker's Man, Series 1
Jimmy is an ex-cop turned insurance investigator whose cunning and insight are well-suited to the business of exposing con men and fraudsters. With his police training, he's able to take on any case, no matter how dangerous. Fresh off a divorce and a breakup with his colleague and mistress, Jimmy still hasn't learned when to shut his wandering eyes and turn off his rakish charm. As he struggles to rebuild his family, keeping them safe from the perils of his work proves to be his ultimate test.

Fore more TV shows, be sure to check out AADL’s lists for HOT TV shows, as well as NEW TV shows.

I'm so Excited

I’m So Excited is the newest movie by renowned Spanish filmmaker Pedro Almodóvar (the genius who brought us Volver, The Skin I Live in, and Bad Education). Almodóvar describes his own latest work as "a light, very light comedy," and that is exactly what it is.

This film begins with two big name actors and a subplot that sets the scene for the main action of the film. The remaining time of the movie focuses on the crew and passengers on a flight from Madrid to Mexico City. The plane experiences technical difficulties once it takes off thus encouraging the flight attendants to distract and divert the passengers. As secrets are revealed and passenger histories are explained the narrative becomes more complicated, propelling the movie to a climactic end. Overall it was a fun movie and if you are familiar with and enjoyed Almodóvar's other films, you should enjoy this one.

Amazon Teen Bestsellers: The Maze Runner

The Kindle Edition of The Maze Runner, by James Dashner currently is #5 on Amazon’s Best Sellers in Teen and Young Adult Books. In the book, sixteen-year-old Thomas wakes up in a maze with no memory. If he is to escape, he must work with his community. From Amazon: “Read the first book in the New York Times bestselling Maze Runner series, perfect for fans of The Hunger Games and Divergent." The Maze Runner motion picture is due out in September.

The Other Typist is a can't-put-it-down read!

The Other Typist, the first novel by Suzanne Rindell, is a gripping historical fiction psychological thriller. The book’s simple description does not prepare readers for the true suspense that lies between the pages! Set in New York City during the height of Prohibition, the story is narrated—somewhat unreliably—by the typist Rose, who works at a police precinct in the city. A self-described plain, old-fashioned girl, she is both horrified and entranced by the fashionable, wild new typist named Odalie who is hired at the precinct. The wily Odalie quickly befriends Rose, and as the lives of the two girls become more and more enmeshed, Rose’s fascination with Odalie turns into obsession.

Readers get the impression throughout the book that something is soon to go terribly wrong, but it is difficult to predict what this turning point in the story may be. The book progresses towards its shocking, but seemingly inevitable end at a brisk clip, while the author’s simple, yet fantastic descriptions of the clothes and atmosphere of 1920s New York set a stunning backdrop to the events of the novel. Initially expecting a quiet historical fiction story, I ended up finding that I could not put The Other Typist down. Fans of The Great Gatsby must give The Other Typist a try.

Parent’s Corner: Autism Awareness Month

April is National Autism Awareness Month, which highlights the growing need for concern and awareness about autism. “The US recognizes April has a special opportunity to educate the public and autism and issues within the autism community.” A potential resource to educate on this subject is in books found on the Parent Shelf.

The Downtown library has a shelf in the Youth Department known as the Parent Shelf. On this shelf you’ll find a variety of parent-child related books on a multitude of topics- including autism, and everything from language to potty training to safety to bullying. These books are available for checkout and can be found in the catalog when searching “parent shelf.” Here are a few to start with more information regarding children with autism:

*Autism Spectrum Disorders: What Every Parent Needs to Know
*Ten things every child with autism wishes you knew
*1001 great ideas for teaching & raising children with autism or Asperger's

AADL has many books in the collection on this topic – see here for more.

Twig Terrariums Presents: a Terrarium Building Workshop

Sunday July 27, 2014: 3:30 pm to 5:30 pm -- Downtown Library: 4th Floor Meeting Room

This event is intended for teens (grades 6-12) and adults.

Learn to make your own unique mini-world terrarium from the fabulous ladies from Brooklyn, NY's Twig Terrariums! Michelle Inciarrano and Katy Maslow will present this mossomely great, hands-on workshop! There will also be a book-selling and signing after the workshop. Literati Books will be selling Tiny World Terrariums: A Step-by-Step Guide.

Twig Terrariums has a store in Brooklyn. After they got their start at the Brooklyn Flea the New York Times took notice and they headlined The New York Times Home Section! Soon followed Country Living, Real Simple, Everyday with Rachael Ray, The Nate Berkus Show, Entrepreneur Magazine, WNYC, and so many more! The response to Twig's creations was overwhelming and soon the girls received requests from The New York Botanic Gardens to create an installation in their children's garden, and from The Museum of Arts & Design to be featured artists during their Otherworldly exhibit.

This event was originally scheduled for the Downtown Library Multi-Purpose Room and has been relocated to the 4th floor of the Downtown Library.

Twig Terrariums Presents: a Terrarium Building Workshop

Sunday July 27, 2014: 12:30 pm to 2:30 pm -- Downtown Library: 4th Floor Meeting Room

This event is intended for teens (grades 6-12) and adults.

Learn to make your own unique min-world terrarium from the fabulous ladies from Brooklyn, NY's Twig Terrariums! Michelle Inciarrano and Katy Maslow will present this mossomely great, hands-on workshop! There will also be a book-selling and signing after the workshop. Literati Books will be selling Tiny World Terrariums: A Step-by-Step Guide.

Twig Terrariums has a store in Brooklyn. After they got their start at the Brooklyn Flea the New York Times took notice and they headlined The New York Times Home Section! Soon followed Country Living, Real Simple, Everyday with Rachael Ray, The Nate Berkus Show, Entrepreneur Magazine, WNYC, and so many more! The response to Twig's creations was overwhelming and soon the girls received requests from The New York Botanic Gardens to create an installation in their children's garden, and from The Museum of Arts & Design to be featured artists during their Otherworldly exhibit.

This event was originally scheduled for the Downtown Library Multi-Purpose Room and has been relocated to the 4th floor of the Downtown Library.

Take a family adventure with Larry & Pete!

With summer fast approaching, the whole family can share in the fun of vacation planning with the help of the Larry Gets Lost Series!
These fantastic books have brightly colored, retro-like illustrations and great rhymes that take your family on a journey with Larry and Pete through the streets of Seattle, New York and Chicago, to name a few. In every book Larry the dog lets the tasty smell of local foods lure him away from his good pal Pete and spends the day exploring a new city in his quest to be reunited with his boy. The stories combine fun verse, geography and history to create a wonderful travel guide for children and adults alike!

Yoga @AADL

Monday March 31 | 7:00 pm to 8:30 pm | Downtown Library: Multi-Purpose Room
This event is FREE and intended for adults and teens grade 6 and up

Spring is here, but after this tough winter, most of us are still trying to chase the winter blues away - and yoga can help! Join us for a clarifying and detoxifying yoga set with local yoga instructor Victoria Duranona. We will learn about how yoga can be used to detoxify the body, mind and emotions, while cleansing the blood through breathing and movement.

Please note: Bring your own mat or towel to sit/lay on and dress comfortably for the workout.

Comic Artists Forum with Cartoonist Joshua Hauke

Sunday April 6, 2014: 1:00 pm to 3:00 pm -- Downtown Library: 4th Floor Meeting Room

This event is intended for adults and teens grade 6 and up

If you’re struggling to start your own comic, why not draw one about your brother picking his nose? Or your sister licking the neighbor’s cat? Sometimes the weirdest and funniest characters already live in your house.

Writer and illustrator Joshua Hauke has been publishing comics online since 2009. Joshua will talk about how he got his start by turning his family into the stars of his very own comic and how you can do the same.

His comic "Tales of The Brothers Three" currently reaches over 20,000 readers and has been collected in two print editions, Mustaches, Monsters, & Other Hairy Situations! and the newly released The Moose Kisser.

The Forum is for comics enthusiasts AND cartoonists—beginning and professional. Bring your drawing tools and drop in for learning, drawing and sharing.

Syndicate content