Coming Soon: 3rd-5th Grade Short Story Challenge!

It's almost time for the second annual 3rd-5th Grade Short Story Challenge! Starting April 14, young writers will be able to submit a typed short story of five pages or less to either to the Downtown Youth Desk or by e-mail to youngwrite@aadl.org. Make sure you check the guidelines before you submit your story! Stories will be accepted from Monday, April 14 until Monday, May 5.

Need help writing a story or finding ideas? Check out this list of books for kids on writing at AADL. You can also visit these recommended websites for writing.

Keep an eye out for the final celebration on Tuesday, June 3 honoring all writers, featuring Lisa Wheeler as the guest speaker!

Please e-mail youngwrite@aadl.org or call the Youth Desk at 734-327-8301 with any questions, and happy writing!

PreK BITS - TOOLS


Ms. Rachel brought TOOLS and WORKSHOP to Storytime.
Many tools were introduced to sing along with OLD MacDONALD HAD A WOODSHOP by Lisa Schulman... and we built a toy barn.
Then the THREE LITTLE PIGS used tools to build their houses ... and make the soup ... to feed the Big Bad Wolf. We performed the "The Musical".
"WHO's Afraid Of The Big Bad Wolf ?"
Not ME!
"Tra-La-La-la-LAH!"
A version of the Action Song ... "Johnny Hammers" with one hammer ... can be found in the recording CIRCLE TIME SONGS & GAMES CD

for MORE Farm and Tool immersion ... try the following titles:
RECORDED:
ROLLER COASTER CD by Dylan Glanzer with the song "Old MacDonald's Farm At Night"
FAVORITE NURSERY RHYMES DVD by Baby Genius with "Old MacDonald Had a Farm" and many more classics.

PICTURE BOOKS:
DOES A WOODPECKER USE A HAMMER? Think About How Everyone Uses Tools
Richard Scarry's BEST NURSERY TALES collection of story classics including the THREE LITTLE PIGS.
The TRUE STORY OF The 3 LITTLE PIGS is from the WOLF's point of VIEW by Jon Scieszka.
The "TRUE" telling is especially fun for multiple age groups, because it teases older kids' imaginations.

... AND they sang E-I-E-I-O ... out the door ...

PreK SPOTlight - NEW Picture Books April 2014

... So I'm looking at the "Hot Fiction" list this week and these NEW PICTURE Books captured me!

Mo Willems' Pigeon tells a NEW story....
PIGEON NEEDS A BATH: I Do Not! ... yes you dooo ...

More NEW books for Preschool kids:
The GREAT DAY ... about Harry who is first UP, first OUT the door, first AT the table, and first ... TO bed!
MOONBEAR'S SUNRISE ... a Moonbear book by Frank Asch
HOW To BABYSIT A GRANDPA for those who need pointers...
UPSIDE DOWN BABIES ... something happened the day the world tipped ... and you may like to know what !

Stories We Tell

Stories We Tell, a documentary directed by the accomplished Sarah Polley, showcases the idea of storytelling as an art form. Intrigued by the life of her deceased mother, she interviews members of her family and others linked to Diane Polley to uncover the truth. Sarah was born to older parents, and her family often joked that she looked nothing like her father. While researching Diane's past as an actress in Montreal, she finds more than she bargained for... and opens the door to a new reality.

The film takes viewers on an emotional ride that gradually reveals the relationship of each storyteller to Polley, who layers their raw emotion with staged footage and family photos. Each person has their own version of the story that weaves into the others for a nearly complete tapestry. As said in the film, many of the best stories come from within one's own life rather than outside of it.

"Stories We Tell" first debuted at the Venice Film Festival, and has since played at the Toronto Film Festival, the Telluride Film Festival, and the Sundance Film Festival. It was shortlisted for an Academy Award for Best Documentary Feature in 2013. Sarah Polley directed Away from Her and Take This Waltz, and is known for her acting work in Splice, The Secret Life of Words, and My Life Without Me.

Performance Network: Richard III Re-imagined

Performance Network Theatre in downtown Ann Arbor will present a reimagined version of William Shakespeare's classic play Richard III from April 24 - June 1. From the PNT website: "... One of Shakespeare’s most famous histories gets an innovative ... treatment in this boldly re-imagined tale of power, treachery, seduction and fate. Performance Network Associate Artistic Director Carla Milarch stars as Richard, the ruthless and conniving Plantagenet, whose ascent to power is littered with corpses. This revolutionary take on the age-old classic explores the themes and fate of gender, power, and government set in the distant yet ominous future." Ticket information is here. The theater is located in downtown Ann Arbor at 120 E. Huron Street.

PreK BITS - Famous Mice

Ms. Rachel introduced her favorite MICE to Preschool StoryTime families.
YOU can find them too!

BOING BOING SQUEAK! is a bounce rhyme for a mouse around the house.
The Mouse who went on "The Journey" has several stories in MOUSE TALES ... a Reader by Arnold Lobel.
When we went WALK, Walk, Walking Around the Block ... we found "Something In My Shoe"! Do you know what fell OUT?
THERE'S A MOUSE In The HOUSE There really is! Now WHAT do we do?

If you think Mice are Nice ... here are stories of more famouse mice by "famous mouse" Authors:
CHRYSANTHEMUM and OWEN by Kevin Henkes.
MOUSE PAINT and BALANCING ACT ... by Ellen Stoll Walsh.
Monique Felix is a NEW Author and Illustrator of MOUSE books. Try ... The WIND, The ALPHABET and more. The mice seem truly alive in these concept books. You'll be glad to observe so closely ... and NOT see them move!

New TV shows on DVD @ AADL

The library is always acquiring additional TV shows, be they hot and new, or oldies but goodies. Here are some new mystery series from the UK on their way to AADL:

Broadchurch, Season 1
When the body of eleven-year-old Danny Latimer is found on the beach in Broadchurch on the Dorset coast, Detective Sergeant Ellie Miller and her newly-appointed boss, Detective Inspector Alec Hardy, are called to investigate. As suspicions mount and the mystery deepens, a national spotlight descends upon Broadchurch, threatening to pull the town, its residents and their secrets apart.

The Broker's Man, Series 1
Jimmy is an ex-cop turned insurance investigator whose cunning and insight are well-suited to the business of exposing con men and fraudsters. With his police training, he's able to take on any case, no matter how dangerous. Fresh off a divorce and a breakup with his colleague and mistress, Jimmy still hasn't learned when to shut his wandering eyes and turn off his rakish charm. As he struggles to rebuild his family, keeping them safe from the perils of his work proves to be his ultimate test.

Fore more TV shows, be sure to check out AADL’s lists for HOT TV shows, as well as NEW TV shows.

I'm so Excited

I’m So Excited is the newest movie by renowned Spanish filmmaker Pedro Almodóvar (the genius who brought us Volver, The Skin I Live in, and Bad Education). Almodóvar describes his own latest work as "a light, very light comedy," and that is exactly what it is.

This film begins with two big name actors and a subplot that sets the scene for the main action of the film. The remaining time of the movie focuses on the crew and passengers on a flight from Madrid to Mexico City. The plane experiences technical difficulties once it takes off thus encouraging the flight attendants to distract and divert the passengers. As secrets are revealed and passenger histories are explained the narrative becomes more complicated, propelling the movie to a climactic end. Overall it was a fun movie and if you are familiar with and enjoyed Almodóvar's other films, you should enjoy this one.

Amazon Teen Bestsellers: The Maze Runner

The Kindle Edition of The Maze Runner, by James Dashner currently is #5 on Amazon’s Best Sellers in Teen and Young Adult Books. In the book, sixteen-year-old Thomas wakes up in a maze with no memory. If he is to escape, he must work with his community. From Amazon: “Read the first book in the New York Times bestselling Maze Runner series, perfect for fans of The Hunger Games and Divergent." The Maze Runner motion picture is due out in September.

The Other Typist is a can't-put-it-down read!

The Other Typist, the first novel by Suzanne Rindell, is a gripping historical fiction psychological thriller. The book’s simple description does not prepare readers for the true suspense that lies between the pages! Set in New York City during the height of Prohibition, the story is narrated—somewhat unreliably—by the typist Rose, who works at a police precinct in the city. A self-described plain, old-fashioned girl, she is both horrified and entranced by the fashionable, wild new typist named Odalie who is hired at the precinct. The wily Odalie quickly befriends Rose, and as the lives of the two girls become more and more enmeshed, Rose’s fascination with Odalie turns into obsession.

Readers get the impression throughout the book that something is soon to go terribly wrong, but it is difficult to predict what this turning point in the story may be. The book progresses towards its shocking, but seemingly inevitable end at a brisk clip, while the author’s simple, yet fantastic descriptions of the clothes and atmosphere of 1920s New York set a stunning backdrop to the events of the novel. Initially expecting a quiet historical fiction story, I ended up finding that I could not put The Other Typist down. Fans of The Great Gatsby must give The Other Typist a try.

Syndicate content