• Book

Ship breaker

by Bacigalupi, Paolo.

There are currently 2 available

Where To Find It

Call number: Teen Fiction, R Printz Award 2011

Available Copies: Downtown Teen, West Teen

Additional Details

In a futuristic world, teenaged Nailer scavenges copper wiring from grounded oil tankers for a living, but when he finds a beached clipper ship with a girl in the wreckage, he has to decide if he should strip the ship for its wealth or rescue the girl.

Community Reviews

me

think movie to

Recommended for fans of Firefly or The Hunger Games

While this book holds a lot of promise - Bacigalupi created a rich, compelling world and there's no shortage of action - ultimately it fell flat for me. The end is much too abrupt and although it's possible a sequel is planned, from this vantage point I don't think there's enough of a narrative arc to justify a second book. I was also disappointed at the lack of character development. Even though the heroes go through quite a lot (one character's father is out to kill him, for Pete's sake) they never evolved past names on a page for me. The characters felt more like stand-ins for the reader rather than real people.

My personal opinion aside, I do believe many teens are going to love this book and I plan to recommend it. Dystopias are always popular and this one is sure to appeal to fans of The Hunger Games or Joss Whedon's Firefly (TV).

Login to write a review of your own.