Robots on the rise

I don't want to panic anyone but I don't like the way my toaster is looking at me.

If we're on the brink of a robot uprising where our hi-tech gadgets get back at us then
How To Survive a Robot Uprising: Tips on Defending Yourself Against the Coming Rebellion. is the survival guide to have.

Robots of every size and shape

For some reason lately I've been on a bit of a "Robot Kick". Maybe its all the run up and hype for the release of the Transformers Movie or maybe I'm just geeked about the Library Lego League. (I can't wait to see how the new program works out ;0)

I remember reading a quote from Joseph Engelberger (early robotic pioneer ) about what makes a robot a robot he is quoted to have said.

"I can't define a robot, but I know one when I see one."

Dewey Divas Recommend

Dewey DivasDewey Divas

Librarians love booktalking but we love nothing more than being booktalked to!

That's where the Dewey Divas come in. They are a group of hip and entertaining publishers’ reps who give booktalks for librarians. They give tips on the upcoming blockbusters of the publishing season, midlist favorites, best bets for bookclubs, fiction, non-fiction, books for male readers, books for reluctant readers, YA crossover books and just darned good reads. AND THEY KNOW BOOKS!

Check out their blogs and their latest picks on Tons of Summer Reading Recommendations. We wish you a blissful summer spent between the (book)covers.

Movin' Storytime

Bounce with dog and dance with dinosaurs and silly bears in this week's storytimes at the Downtown and Pittsfield libraries.

More new Arabic books

More new Arabic books at all library locations. Look for the new "FLC 7/07" stickers on each book when browsing or search the catalog by call number ranging from "FLC ARA 152" to "FLC ARA 191". If you have any questions, comments or suggestions about Arabic books or other foreign language books at the library, please e-mail stantont@aadl.org.

al-Zaynī Barakāt by Jamāl al-Ghīṭānī.
ʻAbir sarīr : riwāyah / Ahlam Mustaghanimi
Shahrazaad tarhil ila al-gharb(Sheherazade goes west) by Fatima Mernissi
al-Manzar by Tamim al-Barghouti
Hikaayati sharhun yatul by Hanan al-Shaiq
al-ʻUsfuriyah by Ghaza ʻAbd al-Rahman al-Qusaybi

Road Trip Reads: Showcase Presents Superman

With the current comics industry rushing for mainstream acceptance and critical acclaim, one could almost forget that there was once a time when comics was mostly entertainment for entertainment's sake.

Thankfully, DC Comics has begun releasing their Showcase Presents Library of Classics. In the first volume of Showcase Presents Superman, we're reintroduced to the box-chested Man of Steel as envisioned by Silver Age artists Curt Swan and Stan Kaye. It's unpretentious, over-the-top adventure, featuring villains such as the green-skinned, pink leotard-wearing Braniac, the imperfect duplicate of Superman known as Bizarro, Titano the super-ape, and even Mr. Mxyzptlk (pronounced mix-yes-pit-lick).

At a whopping 500 pages, this volume is perfect for that long road trip and fun for the whole family.

New Arabic Books Available

Coming soon to all locations, new Arabic books for adults. These Arabic books will be marked with "New 7/07" stickers and can be searched for in the catalog by call number. The call numbers range from "FLC ARA 152" to "FLC ARA 191". We hope you enjoy these new books. If you have any comments, suggestions or questions about Arabic books or other foreign language books, please contact stantont@aadl.org.

A partial listing of new Arabic books:

Suraya bint al ghul by Imil Habibi
al-ʻAdāmah by Turki Hamad
Tāksī: ḥawādīt al-mashāwīr by Khālid al-Khamīsī
Bayna al-qaṣrayn by Naguib Maḥfouz
Sarīr al-gharībah: shiʻr by Maḥmūd Darwīsh
Qamar ʻalá Samarqand by Muḥammad al-Mansī Qandīl

Much ado about black swans

Fans of quirky business books, rejoice! In the vein of Malcolm Gladwell's The Tipping Point and Blink and James Surowiecki's The Wisdom of Crowds comes Nassim Taleb's The Black Swan: The Impact of the Highly Improbable. The title already ranks #2 on Amazon's business bestseller list.

Like Gladwell and Surowiecki's thought-provokers, The Black Swan starts with a simple concept - that big, society-altering events are unpredictable - and shows how this concept affects business, history, and predicting the vagaries of the market. Not surprisingly, things like markets and history don't move in easy-to-spot patterns, so we have to come to expect the unexpected.

Also, check out The Long Tail author Chris Anderson's thoughts on Amazon.com.

Czezlaw Milosz


Today, June 30, is the birthday of poet, Czselaw Milosz who was born in Lithuania in 1911. His family eventually settled in Poland. After studying law in college, Milosz worked for a Polish radio station but was fired when he let Jews broadcast their opinions on the air. He also worked for another radio station where he covered the invasion of Poland by the Nazis in 1939. While working as a janitor at a university, he began to secretly write anti-Nazi poetry. His first book of poems, Rescue, was about the mass killing of Jews in Warsaw. After the war, he moved to Paris and then to the U.S. where he taught at the University of California at Berkeley. In 1980, he received the Nobel Prize for literature.

Following is one of his poems:

A Task

The Play Ground

The Play GroundThe Play Ground

"Death of a Salesman": U-M Turner Geriatrics Center.
Every Wednesday (except July 4) until July 18 seniors are invited to take a part in a group reading of this classic Arthur Miller play. Participants get a copy of the script to take home. Turner Senior Resource Center, 2401 Plymouth Rd. $4. Preregistration required. 998-9353.
10 a.m.-noon.

Syndicate content