Performance Network: Richard III Re-imagined

Performance Network Theatre in downtown Ann Arbor will present a reimagined version of William Shakespeare's classic play Richard III from April 24 - June 1. From the PNT website: "... One of Shakespeare’s most famous histories gets an innovative ... treatment in this boldly re-imagined tale of power, treachery, seduction and fate. Performance Network Associate Artistic Director Carla Milarch stars as Richard, the ruthless and conniving Plantagenet, whose ascent to power is littered with corpses. This revolutionary take on the age-old classic explores the themes and fate of gender, power, and government set in the distant yet ominous future." Ticket information is here. The theater is located in downtown Ann Arbor at 120 E. Huron Street.

PreK BITS - Famous Mice

Ms. Rachel introduced her favorite MICE to Preschool StoryTime families.
YOU can find them too!

BOING BOING SQUEAK! is a bounce rhyme for a mouse around the house.
The Mouse who went on "The Journey" has several stories in MOUSE TALES ... a Reader by Arnold Lobel.
When we went WALK, Walk, Walking Around the Block ... we found "Something In My Shoe"! Do you know what fell OUT?
THERE'S A MOUSE In The HOUSE There really is! Now WHAT do we do?

If you think Mice are Nice ... here are stories of more famouse mice by "famous mouse" Authors:
CHRYSANTHEMUM and OWEN by Kevin Henkes.
MOUSE PAINT and BALANCING ACT ... by Ellen Stoll Walsh.
Monique Felix is a NEW Author and Illustrator of MOUSE books. Try ... The WIND, The ALPHABET and more. The mice seem truly alive in these concept books. You'll be glad to observe so closely ... and NOT see them move!

Amazon Teen Bestsellers: The Maze Runner

The Kindle Edition of The Maze Runner, by James Dashner currently is #5 on Amazon’s Best Sellers in Teen and Young Adult Books. In the book, sixteen-year-old Thomas wakes up in a maze with no memory. If he is to escape, he must work with his community. From Amazon: “Read the first book in the New York Times bestselling Maze Runner series, perfect for fans of The Hunger Games and Divergent." The Maze Runner motion picture is due out in September.

The Other Typist is a can't-put-it-down read!

The Other Typist, the first novel by Suzanne Rindell, is a gripping historical fiction psychological thriller. The book’s simple description does not prepare readers for the true suspense that lies between the pages! Set in New York City during the height of Prohibition, the story is narrated—somewhat unreliably—by the typist Rose, who works at a police precinct in the city. A self-described plain, old-fashioned girl, she is both horrified and entranced by the fashionable, wild new typist named Odalie who is hired at the precinct. The wily Odalie quickly befriends Rose, and as the lives of the two girls become more and more enmeshed, Rose’s fascination with Odalie turns into obsession.

Readers get the impression throughout the book that something is soon to go terribly wrong, but it is difficult to predict what this turning point in the story may be. The book progresses towards its shocking, but seemingly inevitable end at a brisk clip, while the author’s simple, yet fantastic descriptions of the clothes and atmosphere of 1920s New York set a stunning backdrop to the events of the novel. Initially expecting a quiet historical fiction story, I ended up finding that I could not put The Other Typist down. Fans of The Great Gatsby must give The Other Typist a try.

Parent’s Corner: Autism Awareness Month

April is National Autism Awareness Month, which highlights the growing need for concern and awareness about autism. “The US recognizes April has a special opportunity to educate the public and autism and issues within the autism community.” A potential resource to educate on this subject is in books found on the Parent Shelf.

The Downtown library has a shelf in the Youth Department known as the Parent Shelf. On this shelf you’ll find a variety of parent-child related books on a multitude of topics- including autism, and everything from language to potty training to safety to bullying. These books are available for checkout and can be found in the catalog when searching “parent shelf.” Here are a few to start with more information regarding children with autism:

*Autism Spectrum Disorders: What Every Parent Needs to Know
*Ten things every child with autism wishes you knew
*1001 great ideas for teaching & raising children with autism or Asperger's

AADL has many books in the collection on this topic – see here for more.

Take a family adventure with Larry & Pete!

With summer fast approaching, the whole family can share in the fun of vacation planning with the help of the Larry Gets Lost Series!
These fantastic books have brightly colored, retro-like illustrations and great rhymes that take your family on a journey with Larry and Pete through the streets of Seattle, New York and Chicago, to name a few. In every book Larry the dog lets the tasty smell of local foods lure him away from his good pal Pete and spends the day exploring a new city in his quest to be reunited with his boy. The stories combine fun verse, geography and history to create a wonderful travel guide for children and adults alike!

Yoga @AADL

Monday March 31 | 7:00 pm to 8:30 pm | Downtown Library: Multi-Purpose Room
This event is FREE and intended for adults and teens grade 6 and up

Spring is here, but after this tough winter, most of us are still trying to chase the winter blues away - and yoga can help! Join us for a clarifying and detoxifying yoga set with local yoga instructor Victoria Duranona. We will learn about how yoga can be used to detoxify the body, mind and emotions, while cleansing the blood through breathing and movement.

Please note: Bring your own mat or towel to sit/lay on and dress comfortably for the workout.

Comic Artists Forum with Cartoonist Joshua Hauke

Sunday April 6, 2014: 1:00 pm to 3:00 pm -- Downtown Library: 4th Floor Meeting Room

This event is intended for adults and teens grade 6 and up

If you’re struggling to start your own comic, why not draw one about your brother picking his nose? Or your sister licking the neighbor’s cat? Sometimes the weirdest and funniest characters already live in your house.

Writer and illustrator Joshua Hauke has been publishing comics online since 2009. Joshua will talk about how he got his start by turning his family into the stars of his very own comic and how you can do the same.

His comic "Tales of The Brothers Three" currently reaches over 20,000 readers and has been collected in two print editions, Mustaches, Monsters, & Other Hairy Situations! and the newly released The Moose Kisser.

The Forum is for comics enthusiasts AND cartoonists—beginning and professional. Bring your drawing tools and drop in for learning, drawing and sharing.

Out like a lamb? Well, sort of.

No matter how it seems, we know that spring is officially here. And one day soon that fact will actually feel true. In the meantime, remind yourself of the feeling and promise of spring with these resources.

The book The Enchanted April brings together four women at the tail end of a long, dreary, grey winter in London and follows their explorations of love and friendship in a sun-drenched, wisteria-covered villa in Italy. Watch the movie to remind yourself what light and warmth and flowers look like.

Read this charming story,”The Day We Flew the Kites”, taken from a long-ago Reader’s Digest, about how the memory of flying kites on a windy day in March, lived within two families for decades after. And then check out our collection for a book about building and flying your own kite.

Listen to The Four Seasons by Vivaldi, which perfectly evokes the sounds of each season. Remember Spring? He gets those violins to sound like baby birds in a nest!

Take a walk. Washtenaw County Parks is already sponsoring guided nature walks and programs.

Read about how the spring season has inspired people’s hearts and spirits for time out of mind:
Spring: A Spiritual Biography of the Season;
Why Buffalo Dance: Animal And Wilderness Meditations Through the Seasons;
Ring of Earth: A Child’s Book of the Seasons;
The Language of Spring: Poems for the Season of Renewal;
Chasing Spring: An American Journey Through a Changing Season.

The birds know. They are singing more, and behaving positively and busily happy. Find a guided bird walk in the Arboretum and view the many migrating birds which make their way through Michigan on their way north. The Washtenaw Audubon Society has much to offer the interested birder.

Take home a whole bag of picture books and a dvd. Stories to Go: Spring will keep everyone in the family hopeful.

Here you will find books about April Fool’s Day. No foolin’.

Now is the time for starting seeds.(Indoors for now.) Here you will find resources about how to start your summer gardens.

And, stay strong. It can't be long now!

The Ghosts of Tupelo Landing

In the Newbery Honor winning Three Times Lucky author Sheila Turnage introduced us to the Desperado Detectives, two sixth graders who became famous after solving a murder.

The Ghosts of Tupelo Landing is the new companion book, though I would call it a sequel. In this novel the spunky Mo LoBeau is back at it again! She and her best pal Dale open up a paranormal division of their detective agency to solve the mystery of a ghost in the old Tupelo Inn, which Mo’s guardian Miss Lana accidentally wins in the town auction. So between helping Miss Lana run the local café, solving the mystery of a ghost, crushing on Dale's older brother Lavender, dealing with the new kid in town, and trying to survive 6th grade history class, Mo has her hands full but she doesn’t blink twice at all the fuss.

The Ghosts of Tupelo Landing, just like Three Times Lucky, is full of charming and witty dialog and unforgettable characters bursting with personality. Mo LoBeau is one sixth grader you want to meet!

Syndicate content