Living with a Wild God: A Nonbeliever's Search for the Truth about Everything

I became a fan of Barbara Ehrenreich after reading her 2001 book Nickel and Dimed: On (not) Getting by in America. Her latest book, Living with a Wild God: A Nonbeliever's Search for the Truth about Everything is currently at the top of my to-read list, based on a review I just read in the April issue of the monthly journal BookPage. Ehrenreich, a scientist who has described herself as a "fourth-generation atheist," is a leading thinker and fabulous writer. Her book, a blend of memoir and metaphysical reflection, is reviewed under the headline "An atheist reconsiders the human 'situation.'" In the book, Ehrenreich writes about her childhood quest to find answers to universal questions such as "Why are we here?" As a middle-aged woman, she revisits her childhood mission and tells BookPage that yes, she believes that she has risen to the challenge made by her 1958 self, "What have you learned since you wrote this?" You can pick up a free copy of BookPage at any library location. You can place a hold on Living with a Wild God here. There currently are 24 requests on 5 copies.

Reveal Your Detroit

Reveal Your Detroit: An Intimate Look at at Great American City is a community engagement project led by the Detroit Institute of Arts.

The Detroit Revealed exhibition at the DIA featured more than fifty works created from 2000 to 2010. The artwork captured a diverse Detroit, featuring urban architecture, urban gardens, community, art, and decay.

Reveal Your Detroit is a community based public art response to the exhibit. The project was a dialog between the museum, established artists and community organizations, asking these questions:

What does your Detroit look like?
How do you want others to see it?

After it was announced in March 2012 the project received over 10,000 images taken with disposable cameras in less than three months. The photographs included in this book are from that lot and are photographs taken with disposable cameras by local residents, and for the most part not hobbyist or professional photographers. Even if you did not visit Detroit Revealed at the DIA this book is a wonderful celebration of collaboration and community and is a positive look at the heart of Detroit: its people.

Coming Soon: 3rd-5th Grade Short Story Challenge!

It's almost time for the second annual 3rd-5th Grade Short Story Challenge! Starting April 14, young writers will be able to submit a typed short story of five pages or less to either to the Downtown Youth Desk or by e-mail to youngwrite@aadl.org. Make sure you check the guidelines before you submit your story! Stories will be accepted from Monday, April 14 until Monday, May 5.

Need help writing a story or finding ideas? Check out this list of books for kids on writing at AADL. You can also visit these recommended websites for writing.

Keep an eye out for the final celebration on Tuesday, June 3 honoring all writers, featuring Lisa Wheeler as the guest speaker!

Please e-mail youngwrite@aadl.org or call the Youth Desk at 734-327-8301 with any questions, and happy writing!

PreK BITS - TOOLS


Ms. Rachel brought TOOLS and WORKSHOP to Storytime.
Many tools were introduced to sing along with OLD MacDONALD HAD A WOODSHOP by Lisa Schulman... and we built a toy barn.
Then the THREE LITTLE PIGS used tools to build their houses ... and make the soup ... to feed the Big Bad Wolf. We performed the "The Musical".
"WHO's Afraid Of The Big Bad Wolf ?"
Not ME!
"Tra-La-La-la-LAH!"
A version of the Action Song ... "Johnny Hammers" with one hammer ... can be found in the recording CIRCLE TIME SONGS & GAMES CD

for MORE Farm and Tool immersion ... try the following titles:
RECORDED:
ROLLER COASTER CD by Dylan Glanzer with the song "Old MacDonald's Farm At Night"
FAVORITE NURSERY RHYMES DVD by Baby Genius with "Old MacDonald Had a Farm" and many more classics.

PICTURE BOOKS:
DOES A WOODPECKER USE A HAMMER? Think About How Everyone Uses Tools
Richard Scarry's BEST NURSERY TALES collection of story classics including the THREE LITTLE PIGS.
The TRUE STORY OF The 3 LITTLE PIGS is from the WOLF's point of VIEW by Jon Scieszka.
The "TRUE" telling is especially fun for multiple age groups, because it teases older kids' imaginations.

... AND they sang E-I-E-I-O ... out the door ...

PreK SPOTlight - NEW Picture Books April 2014

... So I'm looking at the "Hot Fiction" list this week and these NEW PICTURE Books captured me!

Mo Willems' Pigeon tells a NEW story....
PIGEON NEEDS A BATH: I Do Not! ... yes you dooo ...

More NEW books for Preschool kids:
The GREAT DAY ... about Harry who is first UP, first OUT the door, first AT the table, and first ... TO bed!
MOONBEAR'S SUNRISE ... a Moonbear book by Frank Asch
HOW To BABYSIT A GRANDPA for those who need pointers...
UPSIDE DOWN BABIES ... something happened the day the world tipped ... and you may like to know what !

Performance Network: Richard III Re-imagined

Performance Network Theatre in downtown Ann Arbor will present a reimagined version of William Shakespeare's classic play Richard III from April 24 - June 1. From the PNT website: "... One of Shakespeare’s most famous histories gets an innovative ... treatment in this boldly re-imagined tale of power, treachery, seduction and fate. Performance Network Associate Artistic Director Carla Milarch stars as Richard, the ruthless and conniving Plantagenet, whose ascent to power is littered with corpses. This revolutionary take on the age-old classic explores the themes and fate of gender, power, and government set in the distant yet ominous future." Ticket information is here. The theater is located in downtown Ann Arbor at 120 E. Huron Street.

PreK BITS - Famous Mice

Ms. Rachel introduced her favorite MICE to Preschool StoryTime families.
YOU can find them too!

BOING BOING SQUEAK! is a bounce rhyme for a mouse around the house.
The Mouse who went on "The Journey" has several stories in MOUSE TALES ... a Reader by Arnold Lobel.
When we went WALK, Walk, Walking Around the Block ... we found "Something In My Shoe"! Do you know what fell OUT?
THERE'S A MOUSE In The HOUSE There really is! Now WHAT do we do?

If you think Mice are Nice ... here are stories of more famouse mice by "famous mouse" Authors:
CHRYSANTHEMUM and OWEN by Kevin Henkes.
MOUSE PAINT and BALANCING ACT ... by Ellen Stoll Walsh.
Monique Felix is a NEW Author and Illustrator of MOUSE books. Try ... The WIND, The ALPHABET and more. The mice seem truly alive in these concept books. You'll be glad to observe so closely ... and NOT see them move!

Amazon Teen Bestsellers: The Maze Runner

The Kindle Edition of The Maze Runner, by James Dashner currently is #5 on Amazon’s Best Sellers in Teen and Young Adult Books. In the book, sixteen-year-old Thomas wakes up in a maze with no memory. If he is to escape, he must work with his community. From Amazon: “Read the first book in the New York Times bestselling Maze Runner series, perfect for fans of The Hunger Games and Divergent." The Maze Runner motion picture is due out in September.

The Other Typist is a can't-put-it-down read!

The Other Typist, the first novel by Suzanne Rindell, is a gripping historical fiction psychological thriller. The book’s simple description does not prepare readers for the true suspense that lies between the pages! Set in New York City during the height of Prohibition, the story is narrated—somewhat unreliably—by the typist Rose, who works at a police precinct in the city. A self-described plain, old-fashioned girl, she is both horrified and entranced by the fashionable, wild new typist named Odalie who is hired at the precinct. The wily Odalie quickly befriends Rose, and as the lives of the two girls become more and more enmeshed, Rose’s fascination with Odalie turns into obsession.

Readers get the impression throughout the book that something is soon to go terribly wrong, but it is difficult to predict what this turning point in the story may be. The book progresses towards its shocking, but seemingly inevitable end at a brisk clip, while the author’s simple, yet fantastic descriptions of the clothes and atmosphere of 1920s New York set a stunning backdrop to the events of the novel. Initially expecting a quiet historical fiction story, I ended up finding that I could not put The Other Typist down. Fans of The Great Gatsby must give The Other Typist a try.

Parent’s Corner: Autism Awareness Month

April is National Autism Awareness Month, which highlights the growing need for concern and awareness about autism. “The US recognizes April has a special opportunity to educate the public and autism and issues within the autism community.” A potential resource to educate on this subject is in books found on the Parent Shelf.

The Downtown library has a shelf in the Youth Department known as the Parent Shelf. On this shelf you’ll find a variety of parent-child related books on a multitude of topics- including autism, and everything from language to potty training to safety to bullying. These books are available for checkout and can be found in the catalog when searching “parent shelf.” Here are a few to start with more information regarding children with autism:

*Autism Spectrum Disorders: What Every Parent Needs to Know
*Ten things every child with autism wishes you knew
*1001 great ideas for teaching & raising children with autism or Asperger's

AADL has many books in the collection on this topic – see here for more.

Syndicate content