Library Closed On Thursday, November 27

All AADL locations will be closed on Thursday, November 27 for Thanksgiving Day.

Regular Library hours will resume on Friday, November 28.

What's Happening This Week!

Don't miss these upcoming events:

CONCERT: Folk musician Mike Agranoff plays little-known contemporary and traditional gems on Sunday November 23 at 2:00 pm at the Downtown Library.

INFANT MUSIC AND MOVEMENT: Dianne Dudley leads the Sunday November 23 session of Dancing Babies at 1:00 pm at the Pittsfield Branch.

STORY AND CRAFT: Kids can have fun with storytelling and a craft featuring the book series Junie B. Jones on Sunday November 23 at 1:00 pm at Malletts Creek Branch.

DROP-IN WRITING SESSION: Working on a novel for National Novel Writing Month? Join other writers for a drop-in session on Sunday November 23 at 2:00 pm at the Downtown Library.

HANDS-ON WORKSHOP: Kids can learn to design and program video games on Monday November 24 at 6:00 pm at the Downtown Library.

THANKSGIVING CRAFT: Make a special Thanksgiving decoration at this seasonal craft event for kids on Wednesday November 26 at 2:00 pm at Pittsfield Branch.

Game On!

Looking for something to do in your spare time? The wind, snow and frigid temperatures make it challenging to enjoy the outdoors this time of year, but that doesn’t mean you can’t have fun! The AADL has more than just books to keep you and the family entertained.

If you’re looking to get out of the house, there are two great events coming up for you! Saturday,November 22, there is a Family Board Game Bash at 2:00 at the Pittsfield Branch. The following Saturday, December 6th, you can join us at Traverwood to Learn To Play Mahjongg with a local enthusiast to help you learn along the way.

Maybe you want to keep it cozy at home? Check out the Unusual Stuff in our catalog- maybe you’d like to go big and play Giant Dominoes or Giant Checkers? Or, get your warm weather game on point and borrow a Portable Disc Golf Basket. Whatever your fancy, game on friends!

National Book Award Winner for Young People's Literature

Brown Girl Dreaming by Jacqueline Woodson won the National Book Award for Young People’s Literature at last night's awards ceremony. In the book the author shares her childhood memories and reveals the first sparks that ignited her writing career in free-verse poems about growing up in the North and South. The other finalists in this category were:

Threatened by Eliot Schrefer

The Port Chicago 50: Disaster, Mutiny, and the Fight for Civil Rights by Steve Sheinkin

Noggin by John Corey Whaley

Revolution: The Sixties Trilogy, Book Two by Deborah Wiles

See the full 2014 National Book Award list of winners in fiction, nonfiction, and poetry. (And AADL's list of the titles in the catalog for quick hold placing!)

Readalikes for Serial Fans


Millions of people are hooked on the new Serial podcast, in which journalist Sarah Koenig attempts to unravel the 1999 murder of Baltimore-area high schooler Hae Min Lee and the subsequent conviction of her ex-boyfriend Adnan Syed for the crime. New episodes are released each Thursday, and binge-listeners of the show are eager to listen, re-listen, and debate the findings and their suspicions.

Here are a few nonfiction titles that might help pass the time between episode releases - each title features a crime, compelling characters, and an attempt to piece together the clues to make sense of the whole picture.

Blood Will Out - Walter Kirn's examination of a con artist who posed for years as "Clark Rockefeller," an ambiguously wealthy member of the upper crust, heavily features Kirn's own multi-year friendship with the man who turned out to be not just duplicitous, but dangerous as well.

Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil - John Berendt's story of Savannah is unique in that the crime around which the book is centered almost gets lost amid the outsized personalities of his cast of characters, which includes a flamboyant antiques dealer, a voodoo priestess, and the unforgettable scene-stealer Lady Chablis.

The Monster of Florence - author Douglas Preston becomes spectacularly entangled in this investigation of a violent serial killer stalking couples in the Italian countryside. The extreme ineptitude of the police force on this case is as appalling as the dedication of journalists like co-author Mario Spezi is admirable.

People Who Eat Darkness - award-winning journalist Richard Lloyd Parry traces the disappearance of a young woman in Japan through the search and investigation phases which lead finally to her murder trial, even at the risk of his own safety.

The Suspicions of Mr. Whicher - Kate Summerscale dissects Britain's infamous Road Hill House murder case which featured a locked room scenario, mishandled evidence, and in an unusual addition for 1860 - a detective, one of the first eight members of the newly-formed Scotland Yard.

What addictive stories have been satisfying your Serial cravings? Share them in the comments! Also - Adnan: guilty or no?

AA/Ypsi Reads 2015 Book Chosen!

The votes are in and it's been decided this year's book for the Ann Arbor Ypsilanti Reads 2015 will be A Tale For the Time Being by Ruth Ozeki.

The theme was A Very Good Read. A five-member panel consisting of: area blogger Mark Maynard; Ann Arbor News Entertainment Reporter Jenn McKee; Musician San Slomovits; Ypsilanti City Council Member Dan Vogt; and Ann Arbor City Council Member Chuck Warpehoski - chose the book earlier this month from two finalist titles.

A brilliant, unforgettable novel, A Tale For the Time Being is an inventive, beguiling story of our shared humanity and the search for home. Published in 2014, the novel won the Medici Book Club Prize the L.A. Times Book Prize and was shortlisted for the Booker Prize and the National Book Critics Circle Award.

Ozeki is a novelist, filmmaker, and Zen Buddhist priest. She is the award-winning author of three novels, "My Year of Meats," "All Over Creation," and "A Tale for the Time Being." Her critically acclaimed independent films, including "Halving the Bones," have been screened at Sundance and aired on PBS.

Read "A Tale For the Time Being" with your community and be sure to see the author who is scheduled to appear at the annual Ann Arbor/Ypsilanti Reads event on Wednesday, February 11 from 7 – 8:30 pm at Rackham Auditorium!

Our Stars Are YOUR Stars

AADL has again been named a 5 Star Library in the Annual Index of Public Library Service. We remain the only 5 Star Library in MI, and we congratulate the West Bloomfield Public Library on its 4 Star achievement this year. This effort led by Library Journal since 2008 collects data that all public libraries are required to compile and then sorts and ranks within expenditure categories. Hundreds of libraries are included in this ranking. AADL is fifth of ten with 5 Stars in its expenditure category.

Annual visits, circulation, programming attendance, and computer usage per capita are the measures. It is the outcome of those numbers that we most care about, and those measures are yours. They tell us of your quick trip in to pick up an item on hold. That you think it is worth it to get a squirming toddler into a pumpkin suit for a rainy and cold Halloween event at the Library. The numbers tell us that you attend some of the hundreds of events or programs occurring in library buildings each year. They tell us that sometimes sitting in front of a fire with the paper in a place that is not home, but like home, is where you wish to be. Without you AADL would not have the highest per capita rate of circulation in the US in a public library with a budget over $9 million. That alone is an important statement about this community.

The AADL exists to provide library service to its citizens. While we know that we need to work every day to achieve that for you, and while we know these numbers do not tell the whole story, it is a good beginning and we thank you for the opportunity.

Congratulations. Our stars are YOUR stars.

Josie

Today's Events at the Ann Arbor District Library

Nov22

Irregular Pearls: Musical Treasures of the 17th & 18th Centuries

Saturday November 22, 2014: 1:00 pm to 2:30 pm -- Downtown Library: Multi-Purpose Room

Indoor Family Board Game Bash

Saturday November 22, 2014: 2:00 pm to 3:00 pm -- Pittsfield Branch: Program Room

Current & Upcoming Exhibits at the Ann Arbor District Library

Equilibrium: Paintings By Cathy Barry

Now through December 11, 2014 -- Malletts Creek Branch: Exhibits

Ann Arbor Women Artists – Fall 2014 Juried Exhibition

Now through November 24, 2014 -- Downtown Library: 3rd Floor Exhibit, Downtown Library: Lower Level Display Cases, Downtown Library: Multi-Purpose Room Exhibit

Seemingly Unrelated: Paintings By The Saline Painters Guild

December 2, 2014 through January 14, 2015 -- Downtown Library: Multi-Purpose Room Exhibit

New Art Prints From The AADL Collection

December 2, 2014 through January 14, 2015 -- Downtown Library: 3rd Floor Exhibit

Planes And Trains And Things That Go!: The 2014 Childrens' Book Exhibit By The U-M Special Collections Library

December 2, 2014 through January 14, 2015 -- Downtown Library: Lower Level Display Cases

Nature And Nurture: Art Teachers As Artists: Mixed Media By The Ann Arbor Art Teachers And Alumni Association (AAATAA)

December 16, 2014 through January 29, 2015 -- Malletts Creek Branch: Exhibits

Syndicate content